Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Gum Pond Primitive Baptist Church

Eva, Morgan County, Alabama

Sunday, May 27, 2007

The May Decoration Day Sacred Harp singing held at Gum Pond Primitive Baptist Church on the fourth Sunday in May was called to order at 10:00 a.m. by Jonathon Thompson leading 127. The morning prayer was offered by Elder J.L. Hopper.

The following officers were elected or appointed to serve: Chairman—Jonathon Thompson; Vice Chairman—Arvid Holmes; Secretary—Judy Caudle.

Leaders: Jonathon Thompson 84; Steve Cobbs 285t, 480; Lomax Ballinger 67; Rodney Ivey 205, 564; Delone Cobbs 39b, 39t; Corene White 37b; David Light 110, 318; Henry Johnson 425, 435; Marlin Beasley 348b (for Wilton Donaldson), 349 (for Clarence McCool); Ed Thacker 360, 560; Loyd Ivey 97, 303; Harrison Creel 498; 512; Joyce Walton 359.


Jonathon Thompson brought the class back together leading 384. Leaders: Caleb Allred 448t, 82t; Cassie Allen 368, 485; Wanda Capps 430, 142; Bridgett Hill 448b, 391; Gravis Ballinger 112, 49t; Jennifer Allred 383, 216; Cindy Tanner 269 (for Ann Jett), 327; John Etheridge 500; Sonya Sipe 208; Chris Ballinger 350, 270; Rachel Allred 546, 203; Danny Creel 106. Max Berueffy offered prayer for the noon meal.


The afternoon session began with Jonathon Thompson leading 47t.

The memorial lesson was conducted by Judy Caudle leading 540. The deceased remembered were Bobbie Moore, Martha Davis, Mary Ballinger, Herbert Cobbs, Flarce Creel, Bill Green, Eldora Moody, Mary Lou Bontrager, and Elder William Copeland.

The sick and shut-ins honored were Herby Bailey, Milton Oliver, Carolyn Puckett, Mattie Townsel, Edith Tate, Ruth Burleson, and Charlene Wallace. The memorial lesson was closed.

Leaders: Judy Caudle 459 (in memory of Bera Bradford); Will Allred 300; Nathan Rees 298; John Plunkett 167; Lela Crowder 157; Seth Allred 29b; Bud Oliver 42 (in memory of all service men and women who have paid the ultimate price for our freedom); Larry Ballinger 431; Susan Allred 183; Nate Green and Norma Green 164, 175; Leyland delRe 230; Max Berueffy 150; Amber Davis 187; Scott Ivey 73t; Tony Ivey 456; Sandy Ivey 201; Geraldine Sharpton 66; David Ivey 271b; Bethanne Clay and Anna Grace Sipe 274t; Ron Crocker 33t; Dan Hopper 346; Jennifer Clay 63; J.L. Hopper 245; J.C. Rutledge 568; Brandon Thompson 30b; Leyland delRe 444; Nathan Rees 445.

Following announcements, Jonathon Thompson led 62 as the closing song. The closing prayer was offered by Elder Dan Hopper, and the class was dismissed.

Chairman—Jonathon Thompson; Vice Chairman—Arvid Holmes; Secretary—Judy Caudle