Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Northwest Arkansas Convention

St. John’s Episcopal Church, Harrison, Arkansas

Saturday, May 5, 2007

The Northwest Arkansas Convention was held on Saturday before the first Sunday in May at the St. John’s Episcopal Church in Harrison, Arkansas. The singing was called to order by Dan Brittain leading 47t. The opening prayer was offered by Syd Caldwell.

Leaders: Syd Caldwell 48t, 63; Alice Moran 178, 480.

The class organized by electing or appointing the following officers to serve: Chairman—Dan Brittain, Vice Chairman—Andrew Albers, Secretary—Alice Moran; Arranging Committee—Syd Caldwell.

Leaders: Andrew Albers 163t, 102; Bill Caldwell 306 (for Shannon Seyler), 228; Karen Isbell 84 (MH), 135 (MH); Presley Barker 8 (MH), 30 (MH); Becky Browne 36b, 203; Waymon Minor 32t, 119; Penny Kujawinski 85, 128.


Andrew Albers called the class back together leading 278t. Leaders: Lou Kujawinski 523, 515; Caye Stubbings Mott 268, 271t; Syd Caldwell 73 (MH), 148 (MH); Becky Browne 19 (MH), 78 (MH); Karen Isbell 313t, 168; Alice Moran 163b, 215; Dan Brittain 360, 160 (MH); Waymon Minor 51 (MH), 11 (MH); Andrew Albers 177 (MH), 404. The class was then dismissed for lunch with prayer by Mary Ellen Wilkinson.


The class was called back to order for the afternoon session by Dan Brittain leading 65 and 111 (MH). Leaders: Presley Barker 481, 474; Bill Caldwell 240, 138 (MH); Karen Isbell 270, 224; Lou Kujawinski 180 (MH), 13 (MH); Penny Kujawinski 68 (MH), 475; Travis Chaney 390; Syd Caldwell 142 (for Bruce Rye and Amanda Denson), 222 (for Lonnie Rogers, B.M. Smith, and Margie Smith).

Becky Browne and Penny Kujawinski conducted the memorial lesson. Penny Kujawinski led 201 in honor of the sick and shut-ins which included Myrtle Smith, Jeanette Lowry, Bill Ellason, Gary Gronau, Sammie Oliver, Milton Oliver, Amanda Denson, Beau Caldwell, Bob Meek, Myra Palmer, Margie Smith, Bruce Rye, Virginia Cowart, and Chris Boring.

Becky Browne led 344 in memory of the following deceased: Myrtle Browning, Myrle Jordan, and Jeanie Dickerson—Arkansas; Flarce Creel, Heath Jett, John Hyde, Eldora Moody, Bill Green—Alabama; Mary Ballinger—Texas. The memorial lesson was closed. Dan Brittain led 229.


The last session was called to order by a drawing for a quilt made by Mary Ellen Wilkinson and Katy Black. The winner of the quilt was Janet Fraembs of Charleston, Illinois. We are grateful for all that supported this quilt. The money from this quilt goes to help support Sacred Harp singings in Northwest Arkansas.

Leaders: Andrew Albers 477, 522; Caye Stubbings Mott 137; Waymon Minor 269, 492; Alice Moran 345t, 172; Lou Kujawinski 351, 114; Bill Caldwell 497, 496 (for Gary Gronau, Anita Busewell, and Roberta Strauss); Syd Caldwell 75 (MH) (for Don Bowen), 77 (MH); Dan Brittain “Glory to our Boundless God”, “Sanctus”, “Fraction Anthem”, 532 (in honor of Janet Fraembs).

Announcements were made. Dan Brittain and Bill Caldwell led 267 as the closing song while the class took the parting hand.

Chairman-Dan Brittain; Vice Chairman-Andrew Albers; Secretary-Alice Moran