Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Maidencreek Singing

Maidencreek Meeting House, Near Leesport, Pennsylvania

Saturday, September 2, 2006

The Berks County Sacred Harp Singings hosted the eleventh annual Maidencreek Singing on Saturday before Labor Day at Maidencreek Meeting House near Leesport, Pennsylvania. Guy Bankes called the class to order leading 120. Lamar Matthew offered the opening prayer.

Officers were the following: Chairman—Guy Bankes; Treasurer—Ruth Shaffer; Secretary—Doron Henkin; Arranging Committee—Laura Densmore; Chaplains—Lamar Matthew and Hal Kunkel.

Leaders: Guy Bankes 311; Doron Henkin 100; Laura Densmore 101b; Lamar Matthew 35; Ruth Shaffer 45t; Stephen Hoyt 122; Ina Henkin 162; Cindy Sadler 47b; Gerry Hoffman 99; Betty Hanf 479; Greg Mulkern 38b; Lynne Hoyt 473; Aldo Ceresa 271t; Nancy Katzen 84; Thom Metzger 34t.


Gina Balestracci called the class back to order with 28t. Leaders: Clare Maher 456; Barbara Swetman 216; Robert Stoddard 142; Theresa Farrisi 236; Diane Mennella 475; Tom Maher 31t; Holly Laws 542; Dennis Leipold 229; Violet Krumbein 70b; Guy Bankes 8b; Ted Stokes 134; Eileen Metzger 315; George Seiler 183; Susan Bingham 217; Elizabeth Stokes 440; Ernest Blake 419.


Thom Metzger called the class back to order with 155. Leaders: Rachel Speer 153; Jean Seiler 299.

Doron Henkin and Ina Henkin conducted the memorial lesson. Doron Henkin spoke and led 342 for the sick and shut-ins. Ina Henkin spoke and led 133 for the deceased. The class remembered the following: Norma Koenig, Peggy Hollyday, Ruth Grebinger, Paerry Lafevre, and Will Hubbard—Pennsylvania; Eleanor Loft—Connecticut; Mark Seiler—Maine; Phillip Dodson—Georgia; Marian Ryan, Patrick Giles, Nancy Levy, and Everett Silvia—New York; Bill Chase—Delaware; Harriet Hutchinson—California. Hal Kunkel closed the memorial lesson with prayer.

Leaders: Hal Kunkel 390; Gina Balestracci 312b; Dean Jens 377; Terry Ryan 480: Katherine Collett 40.


The afternoon session began with Cathy Myers leading 282. Leaders: Peggy Bright 333; Nathan Rees 192; Lucy Roberts 445; Greg Freemon 224; Ruth Shaffer “Pottsville” (German-language shape note tune); Barbara Swetman 125; Crystal 77t; Paula Picton 95; Roland Hutchinson 39b; Catharine Warren 472; Jack Grebinger and Laura Densmore 83t; Katharine Collett 547; George Seiler 159.

After the reading of Resolutions, the closing prayer was given by Lamar Matthew.

Chairman—Guy Bankes; Secretary—Doron Henkin.