Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Cleburne County Convention

Cane Creek Primitive Baptist Church, near Heflin, Alabama

Sunday, August 20, 2006

The 117th session of the Cleburne County Convention met at Cane Creek Primitive Baptist Church on the third Sunday in August. The class was called to order at 9:30 a.m. by Stanley Edwards leading 59. The morning prayer was offered by Cecil Roberts.

Jeff Sheppard led the Introductory Lesson from a 1936 edition of The Sacred Harp which was given to the convention by the family of J.W. Laminack. The book was given with instructions that this is the only time that the book could be used. Jeff Sheppard led 89, 183, and 314.

A business session was held with the following officers elected or appointed: Chairman—Stanley Edwards; Vice Chairlady—Glenda Collins; Secretary—Hester Edwards; Assistant Secretary—Glenda Collins; Chaplain—Cecil Roberts; Arranging Committee—Pearl Guier, Judy Chambless, and Sammie Oliver.

Leaders: Stanley Edwards 42; John Plunkett 370, 74t; Glenda Collins 100, 143; Richard Mauldin 36b, 66; Lela Crowder 391, 441; Earlis McGraw 148, 181 (dedicated to his mother, Gladys McGraw); Joan Aldridge 439, 511; Paige Gilbert 354b; Bud Oliver 29t, 39t; Judy Caudle 451, 466.


The class resumed singing with Stanley Edwards leading 56t. Leaders: Don Clark 174; Patricia Adair 63, 146; Lonnie Rogers 318, 155; Reba Norton 373, 460; Tony Hammock 321, 283; Charlene Wallace 186, 276; Michael Thompson 34t, 298; Paul Robinson 128; Eric Robinson 101t, 569b; Reba Windom 208, 300; Rodney Ivey 319, 138t.

Richard Mauldin conducted the memorial lesson. Karen Clark led 499 for the following deceased: Alice Edwards, Sherri Edwards, Donnie McGraw, Phillip Dodson, Elsie Beasley, Ora Lee Fannin, Teddy Creel, Bobby Jackson, Brandon Allsup, Lois Stanson and Pauline Howle.

Hugh McGraw led 471 for the following sick and shut-ins: Herby Bailey, Erica Hinton, Henry Guthery, Elsie Moon, Jimmie Denney, Felton Denney, Josephine Denney, Henry Johnson, Jimmy Cates, Donald Norton, Mary Smith, George Garner, and Lucy Garner. The memorial was closed with prayer by Cecil Roberts.

Leaders: Bridgett Hill 142, 225t; Ed Thacker 418, 464.


The afternoon session was brought to order by Stanley Edwards leading 488. Leaders: Donna Bell 335, 495; Eugene Forbes 434, 168; Carlene Griffin 81t, 171; Robert Chambless 70t, 480; Sandra Wilkinson 383, 394; Richard DeLong 513; Judy Chambless 338, 339; Charlotte Bishop 496, 551; Cecil Roberts 97; Myrline Redmon 452, 358; Nick Griffin 96; Corene Laminack 290; Lewis Norton 30b, 292; Karen Clark 377; B.J. Harris 503, 73b; Audress Gurley 108t, 282; Pearl Guier 49t, 45t (for Mary Smith).

After announcements were made, Stanley Edwards led 62 as the closing song. Cecil Roberts dismissed the class with prayer.

Chairman—Stanley Edwards; Vice Chairlady—Glenda Collins; Secretary—Hester Edwards.