Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Alewine Memorial

St. Michael Church, North of Muscadine, Cleburne County, Alabama

Sunday, April 23, 2006

The annual Alewine Memorial was held at St. Michael Church on the fourth Sunday in April. The class was called to order at 9:30 a.m. (CT) by Chairman Cecil Roberts leading 32t. Henry Johnson offered the morning prayer.

Leaders: Stanley Edwards 448t, 215; Charlene Wallace 79, 146; Henry Johnson 425, 435; Ed Thacker 65, 81t.

A business session was held with the following officers elected or appointed: Chairman—Cecil Roberts; Vice Chairman—Stanley Edwards; Secretary—Mildred McElroy; Arranging Committee—Charlene Wallace, Hugh McGraw, and Evelyn Harris.

A motion was made by Jeff Sheppard to begin singing at 9:30 a.m. with lunch to be served at 12:00 CT; all approved. The business session was closed.

Leaders: Cecil Roberts 354b; Sam Jones 200, 179; Faye Hollis 186, 299; Curtis Hamrick 436, 137; Judy Chambless 82t, 490; Ken McElroy 274t, 128.


The class was called to order with Stanley Edwards leading 175. Leaders: Karen Rollins 178, 34b; George Garner 112; Mildred McElroy 61, 155; Robert Chambless 39b, 480; Evelyn Harris 87, 30t; Lonnie Rogers 141, 389; Oscar McGuire 276, 371; Hugh McGraw 64, 93; Shelbie Sheppard 327, 556; Earlis McGraw 475, 396; Cecil Roberts 285t (in memory of Leo McWhorter).


The class was called to order by Cecil Roberts leading 335. He then recognized the Bill Coffee family, the only Alewine descendents present. Leaders: Jenny Acton 108b, 340; B.J. Harris 45t, 503; Audress Gurley 108t, 36b; Jeff Sheppard 332, 439; Brandon Acton 53, 551; Hester Edwards and Charlene Wallace 68b (for Hester Edwards’s sisters), 73b (in memory of Alice Edwards); Charlene Wallace and Ellen Walters 56t (for Homer Benefield and Katherine Benefield); Mildred Patterson 111t, 319; Corene Laminack and Pauline Kilgore 143; Corene Laminack, Pauline Kilgore, and Ken McElroy 358.


The class was called to order by Stanley Edwards leading 58. Leaders: Henry Johnson 147t; Ed Thacker 572; Faye Hollis 99; Earlis McGraw 337; Curtis Hamrick 196; Brandon Acton 282; Oscar McGuire 283; Audress Gurley 334.

After announcements were made, Cecil Roberts led 45b as the closing song. The class was dismissed with prayer by Hugh McGraw.

Chairman—Cecil Roberts; Vice Chairman—Stanley Edwards; Secretary—Mildred McElroy.