Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Martha Harper Nix, Lewis Keeton, and
Lavada McGough Gilmore Memorial

New Flatwoods Church, Nauvoo (Walker County), Alabama

Sunday, March 6, 2005

The ninetieth annual Sacred Harp Memorial Singing in memory of Martha Harper Nix, Lewis Keeton, and Lavada McGough Gilmore was held at New Flatwoods Church, Nauvoo, Alabama, on the first Sunday in March. The class was called to order by Travis Keeton leading 129. The morning prayer was offered by Glenn Keeton. Travis Keeton led 157.

The class was organized, and voted to retain the following officers: Chairman—Glenn Keeton; Vice Chairman—Marlin Beasley; Secretary—Josie Hyde; Arranging Committee—Willodean Barton.

Leaders: Glenn Keeton 59; John Hyde 63, 61; Alene Woodley 35, 39b; Elizabeth Keeton 34b, 335; Arthur Gilmore 56t, 491b (WB); Marlin Beasley 175, 318; Clarence McCool 48t, 68b; Ivalene Donaldson 77t; Ozella Blackmon 73t; Ronald Gilmore and Hazel Gilmore 517 (WB),142; Gravis Ballinger 120,105.


Glenn Keeton called the class back to order leading “Joshua”, and “Ashley”. Leaders: Anita Naramore and daughter, Roni 145b, 47b; Wilton Donaldson 490, 348b; Anne Steel 209, 480, 171; Larry Ballinger 162, 163t; Jimmie Gilmore and Marlin Beasley 146, 382 (in memory of Martha Harper Nix), 336 (in memory of Ethel McGough; Lisa Geist 71, 180, 546.


Marlin Beasley called the afternoon session to order leading 87 and 319. Leaders: Amber Davis 475, 212; Julie Poston 108t, 343; Warren Steel 179, 440, 240; Latrive Bailey 46, 384; Kermit Adams 31b, 78, 99; Ila Ingle 112, 434, 436; Dwight Ingle 378b, 45t; Josie Hyde 103, 280; Willodean Barton 418, 498; Glenn Keeton 345t (in memory of Bruce Randolph), 303 (for Jeff Sheppard and Shelbie Sheppard, who were in a car accident this past week).

Glenn Keeton and Marlin Beasley led 62 for the closing song. Arthur Gilmore offered the closing prayer, and the class was dismissed.

Chairman—Glenn Keeton; Vice Chairman—Marlin Beasley; Secretary—Josie Hyde.