Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

William J. Reynolds Sacred Harp Singing

Southwestern Baptist Theological Seminary, Fort Worth, Texas

Saturday, January 29, 2005

The twenty-first annual Sacred Harp Singing was held in Cowden Hall at Southwestern Baptist Theological Seminary, Fort Worth, Texas on the last Saturday in January. This is the fourteenth year that The Sacred Harp, 1991 Edition has been used, and it was an excellent singing with 120 in attendance. Dr. Tim Studstill called the morning session to order at 9:30 a.m. Dr. William Colson, Acting Dean of the School of Church Music at Southwestern, welcomed the group to the school and recognized Dr. William J. Reynolds. Dr. Colson then offered the morning prayer. Dr. Studstill called on Tim Reynolds, son of Dr. Reynolds, who led 49t.

The following officers were elected or appointed to serve: Chairman—Dr. Timothy Studstill; Secretaries—Kerry Daniel and Jordan DeWald.

Leaders: Beverly Coates 318; Gaylon Powell 542; Cheryl Foreman 229; Reed Coates 391; William J. Reynolds 128; Judge Donald Ross 183; Leon Ballinger 327; John Beard 282; Father Ronald Baker 148; Sarah Huckaby 277; Scott Curran 448t; Catherine Rogan 220; Ryan Ross 300; Ben Brown 178; Jerry Ryan 145t; Bruce Coates 163b; Owen Howard 384; Myra Palmer 198; Gary Rogan 319.


The class resumed singing with Tim Studstill leading 59. Leaders: Diane Ross 543; Amy Cox 146; Seth Howard 348b; Billy Huckaby 424; Mary Jane Butler 63; Jeb Owen 454; Anita Buswell 421; Vivian Rogan 36b; Bruce Rye 142; Bill Caldwell 353; Alice Moran 480; Owen Ross 280; Robert Vaughn 329; Russell Farnell 27; Mike Moseley 338; Waymon Minor 273; Meira Boggens 268; David Moseley 186; Myrl Jones 189; Reed Coates 350. Judge Donald Ross led 225t, and then asked the blessing on the noon meal.


The afternoon session began with Gaylon Powell leading 47b. Leaders: Father Ron Baker 569b; Cheryl Foreman 475; Esther Huckaby 61; Leon Ballinger 313b; Beverly Coates 133; John Beard 37b; Judge Donald Ross 284; Sarah Huckaby 312b; David Moseley 137; Ryan Ross 306; Jerry Ryan 345t; Mary Ann Ray 143; Jeb Owen 328; Ben Brown 196; Scott Curran 408; Bruce Coates 347; Tim Reynolds 135; Myra Palmer 208; Reed Coates 65; Gary Rogan 448b; John Morris 491; Diane Ross 497; Amy Cox 270; Catherine Rogan 127; Billy Huckaby 217; Myrl Jones 335; Meira Boggens 215; Vivian Rogan 171; Anita Buswell 323b; Bruce Rye 56b; Bill Caldwell 344; Alice Moran 86; Owen Ross 35; Mary Ann Ray 49b; John Morris 275b; Robert Vaughn 191; Waymon Minor 411; Mike Moseley 532.

Announcements were made. An invitation was extended for all to attend the twenty-second annual session next year on January 28, 2006 at Southwestern Baptist Theological Seminary.

Esther Huckaby led 358 as a memorial. Tim Reynolds led 56t as the closing song. Judge Donald Ross offered the closing prayer, and the class was dismissed.

Chairman—Dr. Timothy Studstill; Secretaries—Kerry Daniel and Jordan DeWald.