Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

State University of West Georgia

Food Service Building, Carrollton, Georgia

Sunday, January 2, 2005

The annual all day Sacred Harp singing at the State University of West Georgia in Carrollton, Georgia was held on the first Sunday in January. The class was called to order by Myron House who welcomed everyone and then led 59. Lonnie Rogers offered the morning prayer.

Leaders: Myron House 61; Philip Denney 84, 120; Charlene Wallace 135, 139; Mary L. Smith 318, 213t.

The class was organized for the day with the following officers elected or appointed: Chairman—Myron House; Vice Chairman—Philip Denney; Secretary—Charlene Wallace; Arranging Committee—Mary L. Smith; Memorial Committee—Jan House and Karen Rollins.

Leaders: Myron House 102; Josephine Denney and Felton Denney 48t, 47t; Stanley Edwards 340, 37b; Phillip Langley 100, 480; Bobby Jackson 34t, 47b; Karen Rollins 49b, 34b; Raymond Hamrick 87, 56t; Lonnie Rogers 33b, 225t.


The class was called together by Philip Denney leading 384. Leaders: Jimmie Denney 101t, 313t; Jo Schultz 361; Jo Schultz and Tom Schultz 347; Eric Tweedy 479, 200; Robert Chambless 143, 569b; Jan House 142, 126; Tony Hammock 201, 148; Judy Chambless 82t, 72b; Hugh McGraw 484 (for Amanda Denson Brady).


The class was called together by Myron House leading 337. Leaders: Earlis McGraw 312b, 435; John Plunkett 45t (for Preston McClendon, who was present but unable to lead); Oscar McGuire 171, 276.

The memorial lesson was held with John Plunkett leading 542 and 52t in memory of the following: Otis Hester, Mozelle Sheppard, Harry Fox, and the tsunami victims and their families.

Lonnie Rogers led 348b and 389 for the following sick and shut-ins: Amanda Denson Brady, Katherine Benefield, I.V. McWhorter, Mary Hackney, Naomi Sailors, Reby Stanford, Bernice Jackson, Nick Griffin, John Hocutt, Jimmie Redding, Violet Thomason, Shelbie Sheppard, and Diane Smith. The memorial lesson was closed with prayer by B.J. Harris.

Leaders: Evelyn Harris 47t, 155; Sharon Hamrick 460; Judy Mincey 497, 475; Jeff Sheppard 439, 472; Lisa Webb 222, 159; B.J. Harris 303, 503; Sheri Taylor 146 (for Diane Smith), 299; Karleen Williams 63, 40; Donna Bell 283, 440; Hugh McGraw 369 (by request); Raymond Hamrick 81b; Jo Schultz 198; Bobby Jackson 112; Oscar McGuire 573.

After announcements were made, Myron House and Philip Denney led 323t as the closing song. Moena Denney dismissed the class with prayer.

Chairman—Myron House; Vice Chairman—Philip Denney; Secretary—Charlene Wallace.