Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Shady Grove Annual Singing

Shady Grove Primitive Baptist Church, Winston County, Alabama

Sunday, January 2, 2005

The Shady Grove Annual Singing was held at Shady Grove Primitive Baptist Church in Winston County, Alabama on the first Sunday in January. Travis Keeton called the class to order leading 48t. Earl Ballinger offered the morning prayer.

The class was organized with the following officers elected or appointed to serve: Chairman—Travis Keeton; Vice Chairman—Kermit Adams; Arranging Committee—Glenn Keeton; Secretary—Margaret Keeton.

Leaders: Travis Keeton 89; Kermit Adams 39b; Margaret Keeton 129, 187 (for L.E. Hannah, who is in the hospital); Wilton Donaldson 34b, 35; Corene White 37b, 146; Gravis Ballinger 36b, 120; Debbie Wakefield 394, 123t; Richard Mauldin 378t, 68b (for Amanda Denson and Clarence McCool, who are ill); Emily Jones 179, 74t; Stella Pratt 87, 155; Willodean Barton 270, 63.


Kermit Adams led 78 to bring the class back to order. Leaders: Ashley Keeton 212, 276; Carla Morris 183, 335; Dawson Adams 328, 147t; Elizabeth Keeton 30t, 235; Lisa Geist 182, 186; Ken Tate and Hannah Tate 442, 73t (for his grandmother, Edith Tate, who is ill); Larry Ballinger 73b, 27; Amber Davis and Hannah Tate 402, 436; Glenn Keeton “Ashley” (composed by Glenn Keeton, Lisa Geist, and Chris Ballinger).


The afternoon session was brought to order by Travis Keeton leading 343. Leaders: Steve Adams and Richard Mauldin 401, 101t; Earl Ballinger 389, 176b; Julia Poston 274t; Nellie Alexander 81t, 176b; Cecil Wakefield 168, 203; Loretta Whitman 108b, 145b; Ken Tate 512, 111b; Ozella Blackmon 72b; Glenn Keeton 74b (for Pernie Pelfrey), 564 (for John Hocutt, who is ill).

Travis Keeton led 277 as the closing song, and Harrison Creel dismissed the class with prayer.

Chairman—Travis Keeton; Vice Chairman—Kermit Adams; Secretary—Margaret Keeton.