Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Pacific Northwest Convention

Seattle, Washington

February 24-25, 1996

The fifth annual session of the Pacific Northwest Sacred Harp Singing Convention met at the Sunset Hill Community Center in Ballard, a neighborhood of Seattle, Washington. On Saturday afternoon, February 24, Judy Hauff of Chicago taught a four hour singing school, attended by about 80 (t? b?) students. On Sunday, February 25, our singing was called to order at 9:30 a.m. by Dave Hough leading song on page 59. The morning prayer was given by Joanne Hoover. The following posts were filled: Chair—Dave Hough; Secretary—Anne Huckins; Treasurer—Reed Schilbach; Arranging—Kathy Vlach. Leaders: Katharine O’Hara 378b; Marcia Stedman 313b; Ken Cofield 61; Audrey Karabinus 503b; Reed Schilbach 324; Jack Lofton 200; Linda Nelson 312b; Susan Helf 47t; Jacob Priestley 569b; Joanne Hoover 28b; Jinx McGuire 414b; Karen Willard 278b; Shannon McGuire 268; Jim Friedrich 163 (t? b?); Anne Huckins 84; Glenn Salisbury 35; Kathy Vlach 358.


Dave Hough led song on page 385t to bring the class together. Leaders: Laura Boyd Russell 428; Sandy Klein 323b; Hal Kunkel 532; Carla Smith 296; Sandy Hill 454; Jerry Schreiber 328; Judy Hauff 528; Howard Newell 66; Molly Sayvetz 99; Gary Plouff 209; Karen Stingle 254, Paul Booth 198.


The class was reassembled and the following leaders were called: Sharon Kermiet 384; Darlene Simpson-Brown 34b.

Our Memorial Lesson was held at this time. After a brief explanation of what the Memorial Lesson is and why we include it in our conventions, Katharine O’Hara and Marcia Stedman stood at opposite corners of the square, faced each other and read antiphonally the following:

“In the rising of the sun and in its going down, we remember them. In the blowing of the wind and in the chill of winter, we remember them. In the opening of buds and in the rebirth of spring, we remember them. In the blueness of the sky and in the warmth of summer, we remember them. In the rustling of leaves and in the beauty of autumn, we remember them. In the beginning of the year and when it ends, we remember them. When we are weary and in need of strength, we remember them. When we are lost and sick at heart, we remember them. When we have joys we yearn to share, we remember them. So long as we sing, they too shall sing, for they are now a part of us, as we remember them.” The song on page 85 was led for those who have died: New York—Joe Beasley; Germany—Oskar Biehler; Alabama—Helen Ivey Cordell, Stan Davis, Ruth Fansler, Ruby Sheppard Gibson, Ester Reed, Dewey Williams, and Kelsey Rene Wootten; Idaho—Dewey H. Cofield and Linda Culley; Colorado—Forrest Cornwell; Virginia—Ellen Read Hough; Arizona—Fernando Jamarne, Jim Jefferis, George Lissandrello, Joe Mendito, Arthur Miller, Patti Skyshadow, Jenny Cutler Strickler, and Donald B. Willard.

Marcia Stedman led song on page 147 (t? b?) for the sick and shut-ins: Donna Mae Butler, Gene Callahan, and Catherine Cessna—Pennsylvania; Betty Chamberlain and Annie Dolby—Arizona; Rork Egan, Michael Hoey, and Deb Johnson—Colorado; Dario Landazuri and Lawrence Lavy—Ohio; Vinnie Mendito, Kate Moore, Louise Poussaint, Katharine Sayvetz, and Louise Yates.

Leaders: Carolyn Deacy 114; Rick Russell 48t; Jan Evans 146; Chris Kermiet 376; Jean Murphy 380; Gerald Currens 178.


Dave Hough led song on page 282 to bring the class together. Leaders: Bruce MacDonald 163t; Karen Willard “Harper’s Lament”; Sarah Bryant 38 (t? b?); Craig Brandis 49b; Carla Smith 34t; Hal Kunkel 362b; Laura Boyd Russell 211; Jerry Schreiber 236; Sandra Klein 210; Sandy Hill 350; Rick Russell 280; Judy Hauff 542; Sharon Kermiet 189; Paul Booth 191; Carolyn Deacy 299; Chris Kermiet 48 (t? b?).


Jerry Schreiber led song on page 276 to reassemble the class. Leaders: Jack Lofton 344; Molly Sayvetz 497; Gary Plouff 102; Erika Nelson 455; Howard Newell 535b; Jan Maher 377; Glenn Salisbury 354b; Garylee Johnson 146; Judy Hauff 368. The Board of the Pacific Northwest Sacred Harp Singers announced that beginning in 1997 they will sponsor two conventions: one to continue on the fourth Sunday and Saturday before in February and to be held at this same site in Seattle, Washington, and the other to be held in Portland, Oregon sometime at the end of October or beginning of November. These two conventions will be annual. An announcement greeted by much surprise followed by affirmation and pleasure: Katharine O’Hara and David Hough will be wed on Friday, July 26, 1996! The Resolutions Committee wished first of all to thank the Creator for letting us all come together in this very friendly and welcoming singing community. We are thankful for the fine weather, this wonderful singing hall, and all those who have come to share. We thank Judy Hauff for teaching us so well the southern style, sharing that spooky recording, and getting us all to shuffle and slide. We thank all the organizers of this year’s convention including Karen Willard, Dave Hough, and Katharine O’Hara; Reed Schilbach and Susan Helf for locating this superb site in which to sing; Reed Schilbach for arranging the lovely dinner Saturday night and hosting the party afterwards; the faithful souls at the registration tables: Ken Hallock, Jerry Schreiber, Laurel Stone, Karen Willard; the kitchen crew: Ken Hallock, Darlene Carson, Sarah Sharpe, Alex Hallock, Darlene Simpson-Browne, and Judy Renicker; housing coordinator Susan Helf; all the local hosts and hostesses; all those whose talented hands provided the wonderful and bounteous food; and finally, all the singers who travelled here from afar to sing with us. Dave Hough led song on page 62 as the closing song, and all who wished took the Parting Hand. The convention was dismissed with prayer by Joanne Hoover. Attending both the school and the singing were: 62 from Washington, 11 from Oregon, 8 from California, 6 from Colorado, 2 from Pennsylvania, 1 from Montana, 1 from Utah, 1 from Illinois, and 1 from Massachusetts. Chairman—Dave Hough; Secretary—Anne Huckins.