Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Rock Creek-Mountain Home
and Ryan Creek Convention

New Hope Church, Cullman County, Alabama

Saturday, August 14, 2004

The one hundred-eighth session of the Rock Creek-Mountain Home and the one hundred-fortieth session of the Ryan Creek Convention was held at New Hope Church in Cullman County, Alabama on Saturday before the third Sunday in August. Billy Williams brought the class to order leading 30b. The morning prayer was offered by Richard Mauldin.

Leaders: Billy Williams 147 (t? b?), 182; Travis Keeton 129, 157; John Hyde 72 (t? b?), 297; Wilton Donaldson 317, 100; David Roberson 101t, 99; Corene White 28b, 39t; Stella Pratt 137, 87; Margie Lee 235, 354b; Kenneth Fannin 405, 403.


Billy Williams called the convention back to order leading 78.

Elder J. L. Hopper addressed the convention, and spoke about the tradition of Sacred Harp Singing in Morgan and Cullman Counties; gave the devotional reading from 1Corinthians:13-14, and then closed with prayer.

A business session was held to elect officers. The class voted to retain the same officers: Chairman—Billy Williams; Vice Chairman—Travis Keeton; Secretary—Eldagene Roberson. The business session was closed.

Leaders: Glenda Hopper 84, 145t; Carol Fannin 145b, 32t; Richard Mauldin 66, 155; Mary Holcombe and Emily Holcombe 196, 70b; Judy Caudle 227, 283; Richard Schmeidler 50b, 168; Josie Hyde 43, 77b; Butch White 77t, 31t; Elder J.L. Hopper 33t, 295; Geraldine Crider 47b, 299; Margaret Keeton 212, 273; Eldagene Roberson 143, 313t; Essie Hollingsworth and Geraldine Crider 147b, 421.


Travis Keeton called the afternoon session to order leading 82t. Leaders: Sandie Scott 282, 475; Will Allred 452, 300; Marie Guthrie 25 (JB), 491b (WB); Jennifer Allred 97, 503; Velton Chafin 266, 225t; Rachel Allred 430, 76b; Seth Allred 40, 360; Brenda Pena 34t, 325; Caleb Allred 401, 45t; Richard Schmeidler 358; Brenda Pena 457.

Billy Williams led 231 as a memorial lesson for the friends and loved ones who have passed on within the past year, and for the sick and shut-ins.

Announcements were made. The Convention will convene at New Hope Church in 2005.

Billy Williams led 62 as the closing song, and the class was dismissed.

Chairman—Billy Williams; Vice Chairman—Travis Keeton; Secretary—Eldagene Roberson.