Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Elmore Center Singing

Elmore Center United Methodist Church, Near Gordo, Alabama

Wednesday, August 11, 2004

The one hundred-sixtieth annual session of the Elmore Center Sacred Harp Singing was held at Elmore Center United Methodist Church near Gordo, Alabama on Wednesday before the third Sunday in August. Clarence McCool brought the class to order leading 36b. The morning prayer was led by David Allison.

The class was organized with the following officers elected or appointed to serve: Chairman—Clarence McCool; Vice Chairman—Jack Pate; Secretary—Josie Hyde; Arranging Committee—John Hyde.

Leaders: Clarence McCool 569b; Travis Keeton 44, 348b, 172; John Hyde 63, 73t, 297; Willodean Barton 82t, 101t; John Van Horn 100, 40, 97; Ray O’Mary 46, 75; Faye Donaldson 168, 78; Bill Stewart 452, 145b; Margaret Keeton 144, 177; Ozella Blackmon 282; Josie Hyde 294, 224.


Clarence McCool called the class back to order with 68b. Leaders: Ivalene Donaldson 544; Wilton Donaldson 335, 229; Julie Poston 166, 343b; Velton Chafin 45t, 47t.

A memorial lesson was held with Toney Smith leading 48t for the deceased: Nathan Aldridge, J.L. Noland, Dock Shirley, Nanne Lou Shirley, Mae Bryan, William Bryan, Gesnee Driver Pate, A.A. Malone, Dessie Goodman, Cathalene Pearson, Etma Barton, Jack Springer, Donald Smith, and Lavaughn Ballinger.

Hugh Bill McGuire led 134 for the sick and shut-ins: John Hocutt, Gladys Bonds, Sherry Guthery, Martha Howell, Mrs. J.L. Pugh, and Edith Tate. Josie Hyde led 59, and the memorial was closed with prayer led by David Allison.

Hugh Bill McGuire led 157; Rachel Richards 317, 235; Wayne Banes 89, 341.


The afternoon session was brought to order by Clarence McCool leading 30t. Dan Farley played several songs on the harp. Leaders: Jack Pate 49b, 535; Toney Smith 225t, 57, 278t; Irma Hitt 490, 319; Eddy Pierce 512; Margaret Keeton 276; Willodean Barton 498; Ivalene Donaldson 270; Wilton Donaldson 480; John Van Horn 407, 323b; Patricia Driver 72b; Dan Farley 457; Nellie Brown 147 (t? b?); Clarence McCool 353; Willodean Barton 358; Velton Chafin 120.

Clarence McCool led 62 as the closing song. Hugh Bill McGuire offered the closing prayer, and the class was dismissed.

Chairman—Clarence McCool; Vice Chairman—Jack Pate; Secretary—Josie Hyde.