Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Macedonia Primitive Baptist Church Singing

Section, Alabama

Sunday, June 20, 2004

The annual Sacred Harp Singing held at Macedonia Primitive Baptist Church on the third Sunday in June was called to order at 10:00 a.m. by Chairman Dennis George leading 82t and 59. Dan Haynes offered the morning prayer.

A business meeting was held with the following officers elected or appointed: Chairman—Dennis George; Vice Chairman—Jarrod George; Arranging Committee/Secretary—Sandra Jordan.

Leaders: Sandra Jordan and Ruth Haynes “Sing with the Angels”, 490; Charles Stiefel 335, 141; Sarah Jenkins 37b, 101t; David Ivey 461,134; Shane Wootten 110,123t; Jackson Harcrow 35, 43; Joel Jenkins 68b, 155; Rodney Ivey 47t, 56t; Bud Oliver 39b; Milton Oliver 176t; Henry Johnson 29b, 539; Ed Thacker 275b, 77b;


The class resumed singing with Dennis George leading 81t. Leaders: Kathy James 542, 30b; Donna Wootten 76b, 274t; Elene Stovall 172, 222; Joan Aldridge 200, 546; Bridgett Hill 290, 40; S.T. Reed 103, 64; Dennis George, Sandra Jordan, and Ruth Hancock 45t (in memory of our beloved L.O. Harper who passed away in February, 2004); Marty Wootten 164; Susan Harcrow, David Varner, and Melanie Varner 72b, 63; Pat Temple 481, 27. The blessing on the noon meal was offered by David Varner.


The afternoon session was called together by Dennis George leading 32 (t? b?) and 276. Leaders: Mary Wright 71, 114; Loretta Smith 348b, 452; Margaret Thacker 564, 303; Mark Brown 492 (WB), “Sweet Beulah Land”; Dan Haynes “When I’ve Traveled My Last Mile”; Norma Green and Nate Green 388; Pallie Nix 501 (CB), 491b (WB); Eloise Wootten 448t; Jack Stiefel 36b; Coy Ivey 486t (WB); Tommy George 354 (t? b?), 300; Jimmy Haynes and Russell Varner 159, 480; Rodney Ivey 358; Bridgett Hill 383; Shane Wootten 511 (JB); Ed Thacker 321; Henry Johnson 166; Pat Temple 195; Dennis George and Dan Haynes “I Cannot Find My Way Alone.”

After announcements were made, S.T. Reed offered the closing prayer, and the class was dismissed.

Chairman—Dennis George; Vice Chairman—Jarrod George; Secretary—Sandra Jordan.