Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Martha Harper Nix, Lewis Keeton, and
Lavada McGough Gilmore Memorial

New Flatwoods Church, Nauvoo (Walker County), Alabama

Sunday, March 7, 2004

The eighty-ninth annual Sacred Harp Memorial singing for Martha Harper Nix, Lewis Keeton and Lavada McGough Gilmore was held at New Flatwoods Church in Nauvoo, Alabama on the first Sunday in March. Travis Keeton called the class to order leading 75. Furman Buckhalter offered the morning prayer. Travis Keeton led 48t.

The class was organized with the following officers elected or appointed to serve: Chairman—Travis Keeton; Vice Chairman—Marlin Beasley; Secretary—Margaret Keeton; Arranging Committee—Willodean Barton and Josie Hyde.

Leaders: Travis Keeton 387 (in memory of his grandfather, Lewis Keeton); Margaret Keeton 39b, 37b; Marlin Beasley 36b, 382 (in memory of Martha Harper Nix); Willodean Barton 290, 460; Mary Ellen Jones 392, 454; Winell Sanders 108t; Corene White 314; Ida Lee Starnes 30t, 111b; Roland Gilmore 378t, 491b (WB); Elizabeth Keeton and Glenn Keeton 32t, 34b; Johnny Humber 208, 389; Stella Pratt 147 (t? b?); Huey Jones 306; Alene Woodley 77t, 83t; Ronald Gilmore and Hazel Gilmore 339, 393 (for Timothy Gilmore and Estelle Gilmore, who were sick and unable to attend the singing).


Marlin Beasley called the class to order leading 317. Leaders: Furman Buckhalter 335, 480; Justin Keeton 168, 385b; Ozella Blackmon 112; Gravis Ballinger 300, 49t; Sarah Smith 73t, 61; Wilton Donaldson 348b, 566; Jimmie Gilmore 68b, 137; Earl Ballinger 329, 331; Lena Keeton 146, 498. Marlin Beasley offered prayer for the noon meal.


Travis Keeton brought the afternoon session to order leading 284. Leaders: Clarence McCool 569b, 225t; Gary Smith 31t, 565; Lisa Geist 171, 546; Glenn Keeton 163b, 178; Larry Ballinger 177, 50b; Josie Hyde 43, 234; Ila Ingle 434, 436; Kermit Adams 212, 78; John Van Horn 203 448t; Julietta Haynes 216, 192; Ottis Sides 235, 530; Janet Jones 373, 143; Latrive Bailey 384, 517 (WB); Gwen Cornelius, Lena Keeton, and Glenn Keeton 282, 457; Glenn Keeton, Inez Crow, Justin Craft, Wanda Thompson, and Ashley Thompson 45t; Travis Keeton 196; Cecil Sanders 380, 475.

Travis Keeton led 321 as the closing song. Elder Ronald Gilmore dismissed the class with prayer.

Chairman—Travis Keeton; Vice Chairman—Marlin Beasley; Secretary—Margaret Keeton.