Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Jordan’s Chapel Methodist Church

Newell, Randolph County, Alabama

October 26, 2003

The annual Sacred Harp singing at Jordan’s Chapel Methodist Church was held on the fourth Sunday in October. The class was called to order by Lonnie Rogers leading 101t. Rev. Julian Murphy, pastor of the church, offered the morning prayer. Billy Joe Harris led 32t and 503.

A business session was held with the following officers elected or appointed: Chairman—Lonnie Rogers; Vice Chairman—Billy Joe Harris; Secretary—Mary Lambert Smith; Arranging Committee—Margie Smith; Memorial Committee—Henry Johnson and Sherry Lovvorn.

Leaders: Mary Lambert Smith 70t, 35; Margie Smith 313t, 569b; Eugene Forbes 155, 299; Sherry Lovvorn 143, 146; Stanley Edwards 496; Geraldine Rice 168, 171; Rodney Ivey 75, 88t; Eunice Webb 406, 373; Bobby Jackson 274t, 499; Floy Wilder 123t, 120; John Plunkett 52t, 52b.


Billy Joe Harris brought the class to order leading 147t. Leaders: B.M. Smith 448b, 100; Ann Webb 274b, 48t; Henry Johnson 535, 566; Teenie Moody 76b, 45t; Jeff Sheppard 121, 322; LaRue Allen 106, 371; Hans Guttmann 128, 122; Allison Ivey 277, 186. Frank Bell made comments about the people who have supported this singing in the past and offered the blessing on the noon meal.


Lonnie Rogers and Sherry Lovvorn brought the class to order leading 389. Leaders: Stanley Edwards 217; Geraldine Rice 222; John Plunkett 467; Floy Wilder 236.

Henry Johnson and Sherry Lovvorn conducted the memorial lesson. Sherry Lovvorn led 358 for the sick and shut-ins. Henry Johnson led 338 in memory of the deceased. Rev. Julian Murphy closed the memorial with prayer.

Leaders: Rodney Ivey 348b; Eunice Webb 318; Jeff Sheppard 335; Ann Webb 384; Bobby Jackson 480; Allison Ivey 192; Eugene Forbes 208; Teenie Moody 73b; Hans Guttmann 112; Reba Norton 177; LaRue Allen 300; B.M. Smith 475; Frank Bell and Pam Williams 341, 339; Margie Smith 225t; John Plunkett 399t; Rodney Ivey 47t; Henry Johnson 47b.

Announcements were made. In 2004, the singing will start at 9:30 a.m. CT. Lonnie Rogers and Billy Joe Harris led 405 in memory of Everette Denney, and the class was dismissed with prayer led by Brother Williams.

Chairman—Lonnie Rogers; Vice Chairman—Billy Joe Harris; Secretary—Mary Lambert Smith.