Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Walker Cates and Herbert Brown Memorial

Muscadine Methodist Church, Muscadine, Alabama

October 12, 2003

The annual Walker Cates and Herbert Brown Memorial singing was held on the second Sunday in October at Muscadine Methodist Church on the second Sunday in October.

Jeff Sheppard called the class to order with 59. Lonnie Rogers offered the morning prayer. Jeff Sheppard led 101t; B.M. Smith 82t, 36b.

The class was organized for the day with the following officers elected or appointed: Chairman—Jeff Sheppard; Vice Chairman—B.M. Smith; Secretary—Shelbie Sheppard; Arranging Committee—Pearl Guier, Josephine Denney, and Hester Edwards.

Leaders: Pearl Guier 40, 303; Josephine Denney 405 (in memory of Everette Denney), 171 (in memory of Kenneth DeLong); John Plunkett 534, 308; Pam Nunn 155, 186; Louis Hughes 512, 540; Jeannette DePoy 499 (in memory of her mother, Anne Block), 460; Lonnie Rogers 225t, 222; Daphene Causey 122 (in memory of Ruth Brown), 32t (in memory of Jimmy Causey); Milton Oliver 97, 441; Teenie Moody 440 (in honor of Jo Thornton, a niece who is seriously ill), 430.


B.M. Smith brought the class to order leading 335 (in memory of Harvey Austin). Leaders: Tommy McGraw 91, 475; Karen Rollins 489, 143 (in memory of her mother, Vivian Rogers); Jimmie Denney 63, 61; Mary L. Smith 146 (in honor of the Bernice Harper family), 471; Richard Mauldin 77t, 49b (in honor of his father and the father of Mike Hinton); Carlene Griffin 70t; Stanley Edwards 87, 127; Lela Crowder and Cindy Snider 99, 42; Glenda Collins and Bert Collins 81t, 290.


The afternoon session was brought to order by Jeff Sheppard leading 73b (for Alice Edwards) and 454 (for his grandson, Benjamin Greene). Leaders: Andy Anderson 135, 496; Charlene Wallace 177, 201; Richard DeLong 202 (in memory of Walker and Lessie Cates), 395 (in memory of Kenneth DeLong); Fallon Dyer 294, 269; Felton Denney 523, 234; Eunice Webb 270, 318; Lou Cotney 384, 497; Oscar McGuire 283, 336; Virginia Dyer 323b, 200; Corene Laminack 503, 457; Cecil Roberts 235, 284; B.J. Harris 278b, 274t; Ruth Daniels 47t, 378t; Nellie Mae White 100; Hester Edwards and Pearl Guier 212, 104 (for Alice Edwards).

Announcements were made. Jeff Sheppard and B.M. Smith led 46 as the closing song. Jeff Sheppard offered the closing prayer, and the class was dismissed.

Chairman—Jeff Sheppard; Vice Chairman—B.M. Smith; Secretary—Shelbie Sheppard.