Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Elmore Center Singing

Elmore Center United Methodist Church, Near Gordo, Alabama

Wednesday, August 13, 2003

The one hundred fifty-ninth annual session of the Elmore Center Sacred Harp Singing was held at Elmore Center United Methodist Church near Gordo, Alabama on Wednesday before the third Sunday in August. Clarence McCool called the class to order leading 36b. David Allison offered the morning prayer. Clarence McCool led 101t.

The class was organized for the day by voting to retain the following officers: Chairman—Clarence McCool; Honorary Chairman—A.A. Malone; Arranging Committee—Johnny Humber; Secretary—Josie Hyde.

Leaders: Johnny Humber 123t, 145t; John Hyde 129, 75; Cecil Sanders and Winell Sanders 225t, 569b; Tim Reynolds 200, 163b, 203; Jack Pate 348b, 445; Ray O’Mary 405; Sherry Parris and Toney Smith 45t; Julie Poston 274t, 421; Hugh Bill McGuire 78, 142; Bill Stewart 68b, 143.


Travis Keeton called the class back to order leading 323b, 73t, and 48t. Leaders: Mathew Farley and Tim Reynolds 128, 159; Irma Hitt 235, 490; Josie Hyde 137, 358 (by request); Dorothy Elmore 480, 445b; John Van Horn 40, 168, 179; Faye Donaldson 406, 270, 124.


Clarence McCool brought the afternoon session to order leading 45t. Leaders: Margaret Keeton 452, 217; Toney Smith 111b, 57; Earline Ellis 318, 294.

A memorial was held with songs on pages 323b, 452, 445, and 183 led for the following sick and shut-ins: Danny Strickland, Mrs. J.L. Pugh, and A.A. Malone.

Jack Pate led 341 for the ones that had passed away since this time last year. The deceased remembered were: Dessie Goodman, Donald Smith, and Lavaughn Ballinger. Jack Pate closed the memorial with prayer.

Leaders: Bill Stewart 81t; Tim Reynolds 86; Hugh Bill McGuire 300; John Hyde 566; Dorothy Elmore 317; John Van Horn 212; Irma Hitt 100; Faye Donaldson 546; Mathew Farley and Tim Reynolds 63; Travis Keeton 155; Josie Hyde 183; Earline Ellis 286, 46; Margaret Keeton 276, 35; Dan Farley played two songs on the harp; Toney Smith 303; Johnny Humber 389.

Clarence McCool led 62 as the closing song. Jack Pate offered the closing prayer, and the class was dismissed.

Chairman—Clarence McCool; Honorary Chairman—A.A. Malone; Secretary—Josie Hyde.