Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Dutton, Green, and Jackson Memorial

Liberty Grove Primitive Baptist Church (New Flatwoods Church),
South of Nauvoo, Alabama

July 6, 2003

The annual Sacred Harp Memorial Singing for the Duttons, Greens, and Henry “Doc” Jackson was held on the first Sunday in July. L.D. “Dovey” Jackson, who passed away last year on July 17th, was added to the list of those for whom the memorial is held.

Travis Keeton brought the class to order leading 48t. Elder Ronald Gilmore offered the morning prayer. Travis Keeton led 129.

The class organized with the following officers elected or appointed to serve: Chairman—Travis Keeton; Vice Chairman—Elder Ronald Gilmore; Secretary—Margaret Keeton; Arranging Committee—Willodean Barton.

Leaders: Travis Keeton 146; Josie Hyde 61, 73t; Clarence McCool 565, 569b; Corene White 37b, 317; Margaret Keeton 321, 499; L.H. Gilmore and Estelle Gilmore 421, 47t, 47b, 318 (for Flora Otwell); Richard Schmeidler 155, 84, 475; Travis Keeton 358.


Elder Ronald Gilmore and Hazel Gilmore called the class back to order leading 74b, 337, 127, and 319 (in memory of Dovy Jackson). Leaders: Anita Narramore and Ronnie Narramore 111b (in memory of Lavada Gilmore), 348b, 341; Alene Woodley 399b, 131t; Marlin Beasley 480, 490, 204, 498. Marlin Beasley offered the noon prayer.


Travis Keeton brought the afternoon session to order leading 205 and 141. Leaders: John Hyde 297, 75, 225t; Kermit Adams 183, 277, 28b; Janet Jones 335, 283 (in memory of Estelle Napier), 382; Julie Poston 145b; Latrive Bailey 345t, 345b, 343; Alvin Beasley 45t, 81t, 72b; Willodean Barton 63, 82t, 460, 290; Marlin Beasley 46, 285t.

Travis Keeton and Elder Ronald Gilmore led 56t as the closing song. L.H. Gilmore offered the closing prayer, and the class was dismissed.

Chairman—Travis Keeton; Vice Chairman—Elder Ronald Gilmore; Secretary—Margaret Keeton.