Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Alpharetta Municipal Building

Alpharetta, Georgia

June 8, 2003

The one hundred thirty-fifth annual session was held at the Alpharetta Municipal Building in Alpharetta, Georgia on the second Sunday in June. Chairman Richard DeLong brought the class to order leading 32t. Reuben Ball offered the morning prayer.

Leaders: Chairman Richard DeLong 31b, 73b, 75, 371, 45t; Andy Anderson 370, 79; Scott DePoy 74b, 277; Richard DeLong 81t; Janice Paulk 448b, 36b; Judy Mincey 475, 270; Reuben Ball 318, 480; Jeannette DePoy 569b, 112; Lee Rogers 479, 269.


Janice Paulk called the class to order leading 337. Leaders: Cathy White 155, 84; John Plunkett 560, 472; Helen Bryson 222, 568; Andy Morse 540, 313b; Loy Garrison 295, 143 (for Violet Thomason); Gaston White 173, 35; Andy Anderson 107, 159; Scott DePoy 142; Lela Crowder 430, 42; Laura Ackerman 224, 362.


Richard DeLong called the afternoon session to order leading 388. Leaders: Matt Hinton 147t; Faye Holbrook 343, 67, 380; Robert Kendrick 354b, 153; Jack Paulk 68b, 452; Mike Castleberry 59; Vaudie Sherer 45t; Helen Bryson 299; Janice Paulk 478; John Plunkett 409.

Richard DeLong and Jeannette DePoy conducted the memorial lesson. Jeannette DePoy spoke of how much the Sacred Harp songbook means to us, and whatever the occasion, we can find a song in the book to inspire or comfort us. We sing today for Kenneth DeLong who knew that very well. We also sing for Mrs. Violet Thomason who presently is ill and a shut-in, but is with us in spirit. Richard DeLong led 348b for the deceased and sick and shut-ins.


Richard DeLong brought the class to order leading 123t. Leaders: Erica Hinton 503; Lee Rogers 217; Loy Garrison 566; Shirley Wagner 196; Gaston White 40; Lela Crowder 87; Judy Mincey 497; Robert Kendrick 72b.

A business session was held for the purpose of electing officers for next year’s session. The following officers were elected or appointed to serve: Chairman—Richard DeLong; Vice Chairman—Janice Paulk; Secretary/Treasurer—Helen Bryson.

Announcements were made. Richard DeLong led 323t as the closing song, and Mrs. Ruth Wills dismissed the class with prayer.

Chairman—Richard DeLong; Vice Chairman—Janice Paulk; Secretary—Helen Bryson.