Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Edwardsville Baptist Church

Edwardsville, Cleburne County, Alabama

April 6, 2003

The annual Sacred Harp singing held at Edwardsville Baptist Church on the first Sunday in April was called to order at 9:30 a.m. by Eunice Webb leading 59. Felton Denney offered the morning prayer.

Leaders: Eunice Webb 75; B.M. Smith 81t, 146 (for Nancy Allen); Pearl Guier 32t, 40.

A business session was held with the following officers elected or appointed: Chair—Eunice Webb; Vice Chairman—Lonnie Rogers; Arranging Committee/Secretary—Hester Edwards; Memorial Committee—Pearl Guier.

Leaders: Eunice Webb 101t, 155; Pearl Guier 127, 448b; Jimmie Denney 313t, 276; Charlene Wallace 49t, 139; Earlis McGraw 132, 114; Lou Cotney 384, 172; Oscar McGuire 171, 371; Lois Owen 110, 383; John Plunkett 125, 467.


Lonnie Rogers brought the class to order leading 112. Leaders: Felton Denney 385 (t? b?), 358; Myron House and Jan House 143, 284; Shelbie Sheppard 49b, 332; Ruth Daniel 335, 378t; B.M. Smith 294 (by request) (in memory of Cecil Edwards).

Pearl Guier conducted the memorial lesson. Hugh McGraw led 339 for the deceased from the Edwardsville community: Ollie Walker, Ethel Bannister, Ronald Thompson, Mrs. Jackie Hendrix, Donald Hendrix, and Ralph Darrell Williams. Also remembered were: Leola Smith, Vivian Rogers, Everette Denney, Nell Temple, Irene Watson, and Virginia Glasgow.

Lou Cotney led 222 for all the military men and women who are representing our country. Jeff Sheppard led 117 and 454 for the sick and shut-ins: Jerry Rollins, Karen Rollins, Don Bowen, Barbara Hamby, Noell Thompson, Molene Thompson, Evelyn Harris, and Alice Edwards. The memorial was closed with prayer.

Eunice Webb led 308 and Lonnie Rogers led 348b. The pastor of the church, Rodney Hagan, welcomed everyone and offered prayer for the noon meal.


Eunice Webb called the afternoon session to order leading 58 and 480. Leaders: Jeff Sheppard 236, 186; B.J. Harris 303, 225t; Paige Harrod 100, 84; Glenda Collins 290, 124; Michael Turner 45t; Jan House 373, 479; Corene Laminack 129, 108t; Myron House 487, 545; Nellie Mae White 312 (t? b?), 119; Karen Reaves 410t, 457.

Announcements were made. Eunice Webb and Lonnie Rogers led 62 as the closing song. Billy Joe Harris offered the closing prayer, and the class was dismissed.

Chair—Eunice Webb; Vice Chairman—Lonnie Rogers; Secretary—Hester Edwards.