Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

South Georgia Sacred Harp Singing Convention

Lebanon Primitive Baptist Church, Cordele, Georgia

November 3, 2002

The eighty-third session of the South Georgia Singing Convention was called to order by President John Hollingsworth at 10:30 a.m. leading song on page 59. Lamar Robinson offered the opening prayer.

The following committees were appointed by President John Hollingsworth: Arranging Committee—Rita Haley; Nominating Committee—Raymond Hamrick and Lamar Robinson; Memorial Committee—Mary Brownlee and Myrtice Meeks.

Leaders: John Hollingsworth 76t; David Grant 175, 60; Rita Haley 45t, 84; Jon Robinson 46, 39b; Kay Robinson 339, 335; Lamar Robinson 138b, 318; Sharon Hamrick 460, 276; Otis Hester 137, 542.


President John Hollingsworth called the singing back to order leading song on page 138t. Leaders: Oscar McGuire 171, 145t; Mary Brownlee 47b, 78.

The business session was held at this time. The following officers were elected: President—David Grant; Vice President—Oscar McGuire; Secretary/Treasurer—John Hollingsworth; Assistant Secretary/Treasurer—Elsie Hollingsworth; Chaplain—Jon Robinson. The officers’ terms begin at the end of this session. The singings for 2002 were reviewed. All singings were renewed for 2003. Treasurer Rita Haley presented the treasurer’s report, which was unanimously accepted as presented.

The convention voted again to order 10 extra copies of the “big minute”. The business session was adjourned with President Hollingsworth leading song on page 166.


President Hollingsworth opened the afternoon session leading song on page 77b. Leaders: Sandra Wilkinson 300, 277; Bonnie Rewis 361, 454; Stephen Meeks 490, 569b; Wesley Haley 34b, 117; Raymond Hamrick 48t; Brittainy Rewis 100, 101t; David Grant 51, 114; Myrtice Meeks 491, 129; Jon Robinson 452, 155.

Mary Brownlee and Myrtice Meeks conducted the memorial lesson and led song on page 341 in honor of the sick and shut-ins: Annis Walsh, Ruth and Richard Johnson, Myra Smith, Doris Haley, Runelle Crawford, and Dianne Robinson—Georgia.

There were no names of deceased turned in. This concluded the memorial lesson.

Leaders: Louanne Turner 147t, 515, 523; Stephen Meeks 72b, 235; Otis Hester and Polly Hester 229, 224, 480; Oscar McGuire 441; Lamar Robinson 34 (t? b?), 358; Sandra Wilkinson 473; Mary Brownlee 354t; Bonnie Rewis 274 (t? b?), 268; Brittainy Rewis 354b.

Following announcements, Lamar Robinson led song on page 347. Chaplain Jon Robinson offered the closing prayer and the class was dismissed.

President—David Grant; Vice President—Oscar McGuire; Secretary/Treasurer—John Hollingsworth; Assistant Secretary/Treasurer—Elsie Hollingsworth.