Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Walker County Convention

Sardis Church, Walker County, Alabama

Saturday, July 20, 2002

The eighty-eighth session of the Walker County Sacred Harp Convention met on Saturday before the third Sunday in July at Sardis Church and was called to order by Velton Chafin leading song on page 31b. Charles Kitchens offered the morning prayer. Velton Chafin led songs on pages 30t and 35.

The class organized with the following officers elected or appointed to serve: Chairman—Velton Chafin; Vice Chairman—Glenn Keeton; Secretary—Willodean Barton; Arranging Committee—Brenda Merritt; Memorial Committee—Brenda Merritt and Josie Hyde.

Leaders: Velton Chafin 36b; Willodean Barton 101t, 111t; Uel Freeman and Sharon Long 65, 45t; Wilton Donaldson 565, 348b; John Merritt 426t, 294; Travis Keeton 392, 129; Ivalene Donaldson 204; Winell Sanders 569b; Bill Stewart 480, 145b; Clarence McCool 159, 349; Corene White 171.


Velton Chafin led song on page 144 to reassemble the class. Leaders: Edith Tate 532; Josie Hyde 151, 507; Margaret Spurlock 112, 212; John Hyde 297, 124; Danny Creel 182, 269; Billy Williams 213b, 154; Glenn Keeton 163b, 300; Wanda Capps 299, 146; Charles Kitchens 205, 97; Tim Cook 160b, 150; Bobby Watkins 217, 58; Brenda Merritt 460.


Velton Chafin brought the afternoon session to order leading song on page 130. Leaders: Aubrey Barfield 193, 551; Stanley Smith 330 (t? b?), 271t.

Josie Hyde and Brenda Merritt conducted the memorial lesson and led song on page 163t for the sick and shut-ins and for the deceased. John Merritt closed the memorial with prayer.

Leaders: Cassie Franklin 302, 383; Tommie Spurlock 42, 273; Lena Keeton 78, 436; Don Clark 41; Karen Clark 40, 38b; John Etheridge 158, 385t; Aubrey Barfield 306; Karen Clark 99; Tommie Spurlock 376; Stanley Smith 482; Don Clark 542; Tim Cook 287; Clarence McCool 137; Glenn Keeton 163b, 546.

Announcements were made. The class voted that this singing would be moved to New Hope Primitive Baptist Church on the Sipsey Cut-off Road next year, 2003.

Velton Chafin led song on page 225t as the closing song. Harrison Creel offered the closing prayer, and the class was dismissed.

Chairman—Velton Chafin; Vice Chairman—Glenn Keeton; Secretary—Willodean Barton.