Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Chestnut Grove Church

Ider, Alabama

October 8, 1995

The sixty-ninth session of the annual Chesnut Grove Sacred Harp Singing was held on the second Sunday in October. The singing was called to order by Co-Chairmen Phil Summerlin and Shane Wootten leading songs on pages 31t and 32t. Pastor Ralph Heard led the morning prayer. Phil Summerlin and Shane Wootten led songs on 82t and 48t. Leaders: Chris Carroll 37b; Billy Thompson 445; Coy Ivey 47t; Rex Wilks 47b, 40; Rodney Ivey 101t, 137; Lamar Smith 76b, 36b; David Ivey 53, 56b; Brenda Carroll 28b, 63; Charles Stiefel 39b, 89; Marty Wootten 270, 99; Charlotte Heard 535b.


Singing resumed with Shane Wootten leading song on 313t. Leaders: Jamie Dalton 370, 300; Vickie Mitchell, Cassie Mitchell, and Erica Mitchell 87, 354b; Warren G. Meadows 569b; Mel Kersey and Shane Wootten 441; Mel Kersey 120; Clyde Allen and Mark Brown 129, 75; Mark Brown, Andrew Brown, and Rebecca Brown 312b; Myra Dalton and Carrie Lea 128, 480; Richard Ivey 222, 384; Henry Johnson 68b; Terry Wootten 317, 333; Urcell Ott 45t, 201.


The afternoon session was called together with Phil Summerlin leading songs on pages 405 and 448t. Leaders: Shawn Carroll 84, 143; David Killingsworth 277, 112; Gary Ott and Rodney Ivey 186; Marlon Wootten 426t, 30t; Dewayne Wootten 323b; Loretta Smith and Amy Smith 30b; Allison Ivey 182, 171; Joyce Walton 432, 49b; Wayne Wootten 78, “Love at Home” (J. L. White Revision); Jap Walton 153, 420; Stuart Ivey 385b, 358; Mary Ruth Stiefel 123t, 111t; Ileff Davis 88b; Karen Ivey 452; Karen Ivey and Richard Ivey 454, 475; Verlon Stiefel 288; Eloise Wootten “Willie” (J. L White Revision); Billy Thompson 457; Terry Wootten “Cleansing Fountain” (Cooper Revision); Colbie Allen 480; Carrie Lea “Beulah Land”; Phil Summerlin and Shane Wootten 551b. Chris Carroll and Terry Wootten were selected as Co-Chairmen for the 1996 session. Phil Summerlin and Shane Wootten led 146 as the closing song. The singing was dismissed with prayer by Lamar Smith.

Co-Chairmen—Phil Summerlin and Shane Wootten; Secretary—Myra Dalton.