Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Chestnut Grove Church

Ider, Alabama

October 14, 2001

The seventy-fifth session of the annual Chestnut Grove Sacred Harp Singing was held on the second Sunday in October. The singing is held in memory of its founder, Elder C.G. (Uncle Tobe) Keith, and long-time singing school teacher, Henry Ott. The singing was called to order by Co-Chairmen Loretta Smith and Amy Smith leading songs on pages 37b and 39t. Pastor Steve Lea welcomed the congregation and led the morning prayer.

Leaders: Billy Thompson 47t, 108t; Floyd Peters 68b, 82t; Lamar Smith and Randall Smith 36b, 76b; David Killingsworth 30b, 120; Phil Summerlin 138b, 489; David Ivey 505 (CB), 410 (CB); Coy Ivey and Bill Gifford 45t, 48 (t? b?); Betty Wright 569b, 499; Chris Green 121, 58; Rodney Ivey 317, 511 (CB).


The class resumed singing with Shawn Carroll leading songs on pages 87 and 28b. Leaders: Chris Carroll 47b, 101t; Steve Lea 129, 75; Marty Wootten 99; Phil Townson 45 (t? b?) (to the tune of “Brown”); Bill Stewart 480, 145b; Brenda Carroll 63, 384; Dennis George 128, 203; Levon Wootten 330t; David Townson 162. Brother Leonard Smith asked the blessing for the noon meal.


The class was called to order by Loretta Smith and Amy Smith leading songs on pages 65 and 358. Leaders: Winnie Blevins and Carla York 136, 571 (CB); Nate Green and Norma Green 67, 74 (t? b?); Darlene Dalton 454, 163t; Shane Wootten and Donna Wootten 274 (t? b?), 278b, 518 (CB).

Loretta Smith and Amy Smith led 486t (WB), 572 (CB), 512 (WB), and 540 (CB) for the memorial lesson and for the sick and shut-ins.

Leaders: Charles Stiefel 39b; Eloise Wootten 89; Rodney Ivey and Sylvia Ivey 559 (?), 336 (CB); Chris Green 434; Betty Wright 340; Coy Ivey 449 (CB); Phil Summerlin 515; Floyd Peters 72b; Randall Smith 501 (CB); Shawn Carroll and Shane Wootten “Sweet Beulah Land”; Brenda Carroll and Carla York 500 (CB); Dennis George 270.

After announcements, the class was dismissed with prayer led by Brother Donald Carroll.

Co-Chairmen—Loretta Smith and Amy Smith; Secretary—Amy Smith.