Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Boiling Springs Convention

Oak Grove Primitive Baptist Church,
Oak Grove (near Sylacauga), Alabama

July 8, 2001

The annual Boiling Spring Convention was held at Oak Grove Primitive Baptist Church in the Oak Grove community, near Sylacauga, Alabama, on the second Sunday in July.

The day of singing began with the class singing songs on pages 312b and 354 (t? b?). Waylon Blakeley called the class to order leading song on page 81t. Brother Jack Nelson offered the morning prayer. Waylon Blakeley led song on page 33b.

A business session was held with the following officers elected or appointed to serve: Chairman—Waylon Blakeley; Vice Chairman—Elder Bufrey Dean; Secretary—Lacey Blakeley; Arranging Committee—Daniel Dean.

Leaders: Elder Bufrey Dean 46, 47t; Lacey Blakeley 39b, 145t; Daniel Dean 67, 77t; Hilda Morrison 75.


Elder Bufrey Dean called the class to order leading song on page 31t. Leaders: Kay Dean 274t, 294; Elder Rodger Morrison 143, 358; Dollie Bush 126, 30b (in memory of Elder A.L. Beckett); Elder Jonathan Blakeley 278b, 146; Brenda Dean 124, 369; Douglas Conn 100, 35; Chita Blakeley 123t, 448t; E.W. Bush 127, 341.


Daniel Dean brought the afternoon session to order leading song on page 147 (t? b?). Leaders: Lacey Blakeley 58; Eugene Forbes 32t, 155; Myra Goss 170, 222; Elder Ben Keebler 490, 47 (t? b?); Stormy Britain 378t, 340; Jack Nelson 176t, 165; Maudie Frederick 111b, 111t; Justin Burdett 68b, 45t; Hilda Morrison 164, 64; Jack Nelson 77t (for Willard Frederick who was able to attend, but not able to lead), 491; Brenda Dean 28b (for her mother, Leara Beckett); Stormy Britain 229 (CB).

Announcements were made. Elder Rodger Morrison dismissed the class with prayer.

Chairman—Waylon Blakeley; Vice Chairman—Elder Bufrey Dean; Secretary—Lacey Blakeley.