Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Clear Creek Convention West

Pleasant Hill Church (Johnson School House),
Fayette County, Alabama

September 3, 1995

The Clear Creek Convention West Sacred Harp singing was called to order by Elmer Conwill leading song on page 32t, and the morning prayer was given by Velton Chafin. Elmer Conwill led the song on page 30t. The class elected Larry Ballinger as Chairman.

He then appointed Velton Chafin as Vice Chairman, Josie Hyde as Secretary, and John Hyde and Travis Keeton as the Arranging Committee. Larry Ballinger led song on page 59. Leaders: Gravis Ballinger 202t, 124, 99; Hubert Hood 454, 546, 482 (for Tom Roberson); Mae Conwill 29t, 275b, 274t; Travis Keeton 343b, 91 (for Tom Roberson), 400; Arnold Moore 421, 480, 399b; Bradley Allen 385b, 213 (t? b?) (for Tom Roberson).


Velton Chafin called the class back to order leading songs on pages 34b, 225t, and 50b. Leaders: Pauline Childers 490, 269, 318, 224; Cecil Sanders 335; Beatrice Brewer 123t, 137; Flarce Creel 138t, 475, 182; John Hocutt 319, 140; Edith Tate 35, 73t, 119; Lola Roberson 137, 313 (t? b?), 208 (for Tom Roberson). The class was dismissed for lunch.


The afternoon session of the convention was called to order by John Hyde leading songs on pages 168, 314, and 297. Leaders called were: L. E. Hannah 147b, 56t, 511; Josie Hyde 360, 361, 150; John Beasley 68b, 72b, 37b; Elmer Conwill 460, 430; Clearcy Rutledge 42, 100; Velton Chafin 66; Edith Tate 67, 75; John Hocutt 448b, 317b; Cecil Sanders 345t; Pauline Childers 217 (for Marie Aldridge), and 234 (for Aver Crider); Flarce Creel 284; Hubert Hood 569 (t? b?); John Hyde 61; Josie Hyde 229, 220. The convention is moveable, and since no other church called for it, Willa Rush asked that it be held at Pleasant Hill again in 1996. Larry Ballinger led songs on pages 231 and 445 for the closing song. The closing prayer was led by Harrison Creel.

Chairman—Larry Ballinger; Vice Chairman—Velton Chafin; Secretary—Josie Hyde.