Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Cleburne County Convention

Cane Creek Church

August 20, 1995

The one hundred sixth session of the Cleburne County Sacred Harp Singing Convention met at Cane Creek Church, August 20, 1995. The class was called to order by the Chairman, Cecil Edwards, leading song on page 61. The morning prayer was led by Billy Joe Harris. Officers leading were: Cecil Edwards 59; Walter Hamrick 68b; Billy Joe Harris 347, 452; Mary Florence Smith 31b, 565b. The introductory lesson was led by Jeff Sheppard from a book that was given to the Convention in memory of the late J. W. Laminack. Songs used were: 47t, 65, 289, and 292. The business session was held, and the following officers will serve another year: Chairman—Cecil Edwards; Vice Chairman—Walter Hamrick; Secretary—Mary Florence Smith; Chaplain—Billy Joe Harris; Arranging Committee—Hester Edwards and Margie Smith; Memorial Committee—Hester Edwards and Lois Bowman. Walter Hamrick led songs on pages 186 and 106. Leaders: Margie Smith 82t, 84; Don Bowen 225t, 178; Alice Edwards 104, 73b.


The singing resumed with Cecil Edwards leading song on page 273. Leaders called: Revy Williamson 99, 155; Roy Nelson 75, 303b; Evelyn Harris 77t, 101t; Lamar Smith 76b, 343; Lou Cotney 196, 189; Milton Oliver 384, 222; Judy Mincey 523, 489; Lonnie Rogers 137, 318; Shelbie Sheppard 296, 139. The memorial lesson was given at this time by Hester Edwards and Lois Bowman, who said, “As we come to this part of this convention, I consider this to be a beautiful part of this singing as we pause to remember our friends and loved ones who have passed away in the last year. As we remember these, we can remember some special things about each. We can sing in their memory by singing these beautiful hymns.” Hester Edwards read the following names of the deceased: Forney Cobb, Dula Webb, Hoyt Renfroe, Freeman Harris, Bill Edwards, and Lessie Cates. B. M. Smith led songs on pages 499b and 122, and Harvey Austin led songs on pages 298 and 340. Mary Florence Smith led songs on pages 383 and 387 for the sick and shut-ins. Billy Joe Harris closed the memorial with prayer.


The Chairman, Cecil Edwards, began the afternoon of singing leading song on page 87. Leaders: Lewis Norton 235, 159, 491; Shelton Williamson 299, 300; B. M. Smith 496, 497, 284; Harvey Austin 335, 405; Jeff Sheppard 156, 167; Roy Nelson 434; Judy Mincey 404, 192; Don Bowen 163 (t? b?), 503; Shelbie Sheppard 484; Lamar Smith 218. The Cleburne County Convention will be at Cane Creek Church again in 1996. Announcements were made and page 62, “Parting Hand”, was the closing song. The class was dismissed with prayer by Lonnie Rogers.

Chairman—Cecil Edwards; Vice Chairman—Walter Hamrick; Secretary—Mary Lambert Smith.