Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Lacy’s Chapel

Henagar, Alabama

July 30, 2000

The annual Sacred Harp singing held at Lacy’s Chapel on the first fifth Sunday after July 4th was called to order by Reba Dell Windom leading songs on pages 59 and 82 (t? b?). Clarke Lee led the morning prayer.

Leaders: David Ivey 30b (in memory of Noah Lacy), 208 (for Aunt Woodie Lacy Walker); Rodney Ivey 182; Norma Green 101b; Dennis George was appointed as the Arranging Committee and led songs on pages 277 and 224; Elene Stovall 436, 217 (for Marie Aldridge); Roy Nelson 236; Mary Ruth Stiefel 322; Mattie Townsel 313t, 61; Linton Ballinger 81t; Cassie Franklin 276, 186; Betty Wright 457, 323b; Scott Ivey 47t; Loyd Ivey 283, 340; Jackson Harcrow 63, 68b.


Rodney Ivey brought the class back together leading song on page 101t. Leaders: Henry Johnson 267, 70b; Mary Elizabeth Lee 388, 40; Lamar Smith and Randall Smith 76b, 36b; Randall Smith and Rodney Ivey 137; Louis Hughes, Sr. 406; Karen Ivey 349; Karen Ivey and Coy Ivey 384; Phil Summerlin 64, 97; B.M. Smith 448b, 475.

Rev. Joe Owens, pastor of the church, quoted some scripture and gave a brief talk. Joe Owens and Rodney Ivey led song on page 45t.

Leaders: Jeff Sheppard 347; Milton Oliver 222; Tony Ivey 49t, 477; Nate Green and Norma Green 75.


David Ivey brought the afternoon session to order leading song on page 120. Leaders: Shane Wootten and Donna Wootten 56t; Bud Oliver 383 (remembering Lawrence Underwood), 39b; Betty Shepherd 126, 216; Debra Morton, Betty Shepherd, Reba Dell Windom, and Rodney Ivey 299, 144 (in memory of Lindberg Lacy); Eloise Wootten 426b; Max Berueffy 112, 532; Susan Harcrow 200, 430; Linda Sides 542, 454; Clarke Lee 147t, 99; Wayne Wootten 445; Margie Smith 393.


Shane Wootten called the class together with song on page 345b. Leaders: Joan Aldridge 546; Jarrod George and Cassie Franklin 300, 270; Hobert Ivey and Sandy Ivey 138b; Jackson Harcrow, Stuart Ivey, Jarrod George, and Scott Ivey 155 (walked time); Eschol Hughes 89, 460; S.T. Reed 275t; Julie Lee 319; John Henry Busby, Loyd Ivey, and Coy Ivey 511b (CB), “Old Time Religion”; Stuart Ivey and Scott Ivey 192; Charles Stiefel 312b.

Announcements were made. David Ivey and Reba Dell Windom led song on page 146 as the closing song. Rev. Joe Owens dismissed the class with prayer.

We invite you to sing with us at Lacy’s Chapel in the year 2001 on July 29th beginning at 9:30 a.m.

Chairman—David Ivey; Vice Chairman—Rodney Ivey; Secretary—Norma Latham Green.