Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Cotaco Sacred Harp Convention

Gum Pond Primitive Baptist Church

July 22, 1995

The one hundred fifty-second session of the Cotaco Convention was called to order by Elder J. L. Hopper leading songs on pages 52t and 61. Vice Chairman Arvid Holmes led song on page 32t. Chairman Elder Dan Hopper led songs on pages 163t and 138b, and the morning prayer was offered by Elder J. L. Hopper. The class organized by electing officers: Chairman—Elder Dan Hopper; Vice Chairman—Arvid Holmes; Secretaries—Judy Caudle and Nancy Thompson; Arranging Committee—Willard Hopper. Leaders: Dan Hopper 310; Hershell King 34b, 80b; Carmon Brothers 81t, 138t; Estelle Napier 389, 217; Glenda Hopper 30t, 63.


The class resumed singing with Dan Hopper leading song on page 84. Leaders: Nathan Blackwood 36b, 39t; Verlon Blackwood 39b, 47b; Alta Self 301, 112; Carol Newman 373, 137; Nancy, Jonathan, and Brandon Thomspon 40, 45t; Lessie Grant 335, 111t; Buckley Hopper 186; Dan Hopper 220, 565, 223, 222. The class was dismissed for lunch. Prayer was led by Elder Dan Hopper.


The afternoon session was called to order by Elder Dan Hopper leading song on page 34t. Leaders: J. L. Hopper 326, 295, 149; Judy Caudle 418, 234; Billy Williams 448b, 268; Herbert Cobbs 73t, 405; Wilda Holmes, Dana Ozbolt, and Amber Holmes “That Beautiful Land”, 384, 448t; Arvid Holmes 300; Nancy Thompson and Willard Hopper 445, 68b; Ed and Amber Holmes 101t, 100. Dan Hopper opened the floor for any churches interested in hosting the Cotaco Convention for next year. No requests were received so the Convention will remain with Gum Pond Church for July 1996. He then continued by leading songs on pages 208, 378t, 203, 294, 46. The class was dismissed with prayer by Elder Dan Hopper.

Chairman—Elder Dan Hopper; Vice Chairman—Arvid Holmes; Secretaries—Judy Caudle, Nancy Thompson.