Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Emmaus Primitive Baptist Church

Carrollton, Georgia

May 7, 2000

The annual Sacred Harp singing at Emmaus Primitive Baptist Church was held on the first Sunday in May. The class was called to order by Felton Denney leading song on page 73b. Lonnie Rogers led the morning prayer. Felton Denney led song on page 52 (t? b?); Everette Denney 335, 405; Sheri Taylor 65, 114; and Charlene Wallace 72 (t? b?), 79.

The class organized with the following officers elected or appointed to serve: Chairman—Felton Denney; Vice Chairman—Everette Denney; Secretary—Sheri Taylor; Chaplain—Lonnie Rogers; Arranging Committee—Charlene Wallace and Jimmie Denney; Memorial Committee—Jan House and Shelbie Sheppard.

Leaders: Lonnie Rogers 33 (t? b?), 410 (t? b?); Bernard Denney 339, 299, 28b; Jimmie Denney 32 (t? b?), 101t, 148; Josephine Denney 30t, 100, 145b; Denney Rogers 68b, 358.


Felton Denney brought the class to order leading song on page 55. Leaders: Myron House 28t, 102; Margie Smith 56t, 108t; Lori Goode 120, 551; Bobby Jackson 378b, 59; Jan House 178, 179; B.M. Smith 318 (for Vivian Rogers), 475.

Jan House held the memorial with the following deceased remembered: Dollie Hudgins, Virgil Phillips, J.D. Muse, Elder Jim Embry, Lillie Bell Ayers, Verla Ross, and Lamar Harrison. Lonnie Rogers led songs on pages 340 and 348b for the deceased. Howard McGuire led song on page 45t for Elder Jim Embry.

Myron House led song on page 109 for the following sick and shut-ins: Raymond Hamrick, Vivian Rogers, Mozelle Sheppard, I.V. McWhorter, and Revy Williamson. Lonnie Rogers closed the memorial with prayer.


Everette Denney brought the afternoon session to order leading song on page 39b. Leaders: John Plunkett 374, 50 (t? b?); Shelbie Sheppard 367, 411; Louis Hughes, Sr. 176t, 540; Hugh McGraw 572, 468; Rev. Lloyd Toney 72b, 46; Jeff Sheppard 57, 75; Eunice Webb 332, 480; Oscar McGuire 276, 344; Lisa Webb 334, 126; Howard McGuire 192; Richard DeLong 118; Sherry Louvorn 143; Phillip Denney 440, 164; Gene Duke 138b, 490.

Announcements were made. Felton Denney and Everette Denney led song on page 209 as the closing song. Elder Homer Benefield dismissed the class with prayer.

Chairman—Felton Denney; Vice Chairman—Everette Denney: Secretary—Sheri Taylor.