Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 2023 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

South Georgia Sacred Harp Singing Convention

Roberta Civic Center, Roberta, Georgia

Sunday, October 3, 2021

The 102nd session of the South Georgia Sacred Harp Singing Convention was held on the first Sunday in October at the Civic Center in Roberta, Georgia. President Oscar McGuire called the class together leading 59. Philip Denney offered the opening prayer. Oscar McGuire then led 34b. Glenda Collins served as secretary pro-tem for the day.

Leaders: Helen Bryson 287, 455; Bert Collins 300, 335; Glenda Collins 81t, 63; Bill Dupre 82t, 35; Winfred Kerr 476, 500 (in memory of Rebecca Over); Philip Denney 84, 28b; Phillip Ford 288, 78.


The class was called back together by Oscar McGuire leading 31b. Leaders: Sheri Taylor 42, 75; Laura Frey 503, 358; Susan Ford 457, 45t; John Plunkett 471, 483.

A business session was held at this time. The following officers were elected for the upcoming year; President—Oscar McGuire; Vice President—John Plunkett; Secretaries—Lauren Bock and Jesse P. Karlsberg; Treasurer—Helen Bryson; Chaplain—Philip Denney. A motion was made to permanently move the South Georgia convention to the Roberta Civic Center. Also, if any church wants to ask for the convention it can move to that church for that year. Motion was passed. The class reviewed and accepted the list of singings for the upcoming year. Helen Bryson gave the treasurer’s report for 2020-2021. The class approved the report. The business session was closed, and the class dismissed for lunch. Phillip Ford offered the blessing for the noon meal.


Oscar McGuire called the class back together leading 87. Leaders: Bert Collins 97; Glenda Collins 566 (in memory of Richard DeLong); Bill Dupre 99; Winfred Kerr 544; Philip Denney 120 (by Laura Frey); Sheri Taylor 156; Laura Frey 178; John Plunkett 50b; Wesley Haley 112.

The memorial lesson was held at this time. Oscar McGuire read the list of names of the sick and shut-ins: Virginia Dyer, Marlon Wootten, and Mary Wright. He read the list of names of the deceased: Rebecca Over, Georgia Ann Corbin, Jimmy Smith, David Grant, Agnes Todd, and Leigh Dupre. The class sang 225t for all included in the memorial lesson. Philip Denney closed the memorial lesson with prayer.

Leaders; Bill Dupre 128; Laura Frey 39t; Alpha Watson and John Plunkett 155; Bert Collins and Glenda Collins 454. Announcements were made.

Laura Frey led 347 as the traditional closing song. John Plunkett offered the closing prayer, and the class was dismissed.

President—Oscar McGuire; Vice President—John Plunkett; Secretary pro-tem—Glenda Collins