Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 2023 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Ivey Memorial

Liberty Baptist Church, Henagar, Alabama

Sunday, March 31, 2019

The annual Ivey Memorial Sacred Harp singing was held on the first fifth Sunday of the year at Liberty Baptist Church, Henagar, Alabama. Shane Wootten called the class to order by leading 82t. Danny Creel offered the opening prayer.

Leaders: Shane Wootten 111t (in memory of Eloise Wootten); Kelsey Ivey and Everett Ivey 37b; Cheyenne Ivey 208; David Ivey 144; Boyd Scott 358; Judy Chambless 472; Garrett Morton and Deborah Morton 354b; Garrett Morton, Deborah Morton, and Rodney Ivey 299 (in memory of Lindberg Lacy); Tom George and Sarah Trumbore 423; Nate Green and Norma Green 482 (in memory of Eulis Ivey); Shirley Figura 348b; Henry Johnson 164; Winfred Kerr 146; Rebekah Gilmore 411; Ed Thacker 442; Lomax Ballinger 168; Sasha Hsuczyk 272; David Jackson 40; Scott Ivey 480 (in memory of Hobert Ivey and for Sonny Erwin); Judy Caudle 430.


Rodney Ivey led 176t to bring the class back together. Leaders: Blake Sisemore and Mamie Sisemore 434 (for Hayden Arp); Danny Creel 512 (in memory of Harrison Creel); Matt Hinton 351; Loyd Ivey 89 (in memory of Short Ivey); Jimmy Ballinger 84; Amber Davis 142; Tony Ivey 349; Bobby Watkins 33b; Karen Edwards 290; Nicholas Thompson 218 (in memory of Eugene Forbes); Erica Hinton 215; Ryan Nash 300; Paul Figura 410t (in memory of Paul Wilson); Larry Ballinger 97 (for Earl Ballinger); Tim Morton 513.


Shane Wootten led 101t to bring the class back together. Leaders: Richard Ivey 336 (for Barrett Patton); Robert Chambless 145t (in memory of Eugene Forbes); Margaret Thacker 39b (in memory of B.M. Smith); April Watkins and Taylor Watkins 500; Shelby Castillo 436; David Gooch 271b; Angharad Davis 292; Jamey Wootten 418; Rodney Ivey 47t (in memory of Marie Ivey); Greta Edwards 77t; Ezra Lloyd, Gideon Lloyd, and Isaac Lloyd 311; Loyd Ivey, Teresa Bethune, Doug Ivey, Lilly Underwood, Marion Biddle, Candice Sisemore, Lindsey Watkins, Ivey Thoren, Beau Thoren, Zoe Thoren, Halle Sizemore, Callie Watkins, Eva Sizemore, and Katie Watkins 501 (CB); Anna Hinton 455; Dan Edwards 39t; Buell Cobb 462 (in memory of Levon Wootten and Eloise Wootten); Nathan Rees 439. Mark Carroll asked a blessing before the noon meal.


The afternoon session began with Richard Ivey leading 56t. Leaders: Dennis George 517; Linton Ballinger 186; Terry Wootten 369; Lela Crowder 121; Max Bruce 335; Reba Windom 216 (for Betty Shepherd); Eschol Hughes 380 (for Louis Hughes); Lynne deBenedette 383 (in memory of Jerry Enright); Justin Bowen 440; Lisa Geist 528; Hayden Wootten 441; Lauren Bock 100 (for Jonathon Smith); Ann Jett 327; Chris Ballinger 276; Jared Wootten 456; Lisa Bennett 390 (for Lydia Lewallen); Jeannette DePoy 460 (for Rick); Cindy Tanner 368; Marty Wootten 99; Jesse Latimer 297; Jesse P. Karlsberg 345b; Lynne deBenedette, Reba Windom, and Rodney Ivey 30b (by request of Joyce Whittington); Don Bowen 465 (CB); Cassie Allen 129 (for a friend); Daniel Williams 160b; David Smead 323b (in memory of Concetta Branson); Eli Hinton 63; Karen Ivey and Everett Ivey 182; Susan Cherones and Daniel Lee 278t; Isaac Green 488; Hayden Wootten and Scott Ivey 421 (by request of Macey Bell); Shane Brown 267; Leanne Carter 82b; Terry Wootten, Shane Wootten, and Jackie Tanner 73t (in memory of Gary Trentham). Announcements were made.

Shane Wootten and Kelsey Ivey led 521 as the closing song. Shane Brown offered the closing prayer, and the class was dismissed.

Chairman—Shane Wootten; Vice Chairman—Kelsey Ivey; Secretary—Cheyenne Ivey