Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 2023 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Liberty Decoration Day Singing

Liberty Baptist Church, Henagar, Alabama

Sunday, June 3, 2018

The annual Liberty Decoration Day Sacred Harp singing was held on the first Sunday in June. The class was called to order by Kelsey Ivey leading 32t. Barrett Patton offered the opening prayer.

Leaders: Shane Wootten 129; Cheyenne Ivey 138t; Scott Ivey 47t; Loyd Ivey 89; Rex Wilks 176b; Hayden Wootten and Cole Wootten 42; Nate Green and Norma Green 34t (in memory of Eulis Ivey); Susan Cherones 564 (in memory of Eloise Wootten); Ed Thacker and Don Bowen 39b (in memory of Marie Ivey); Linda Sides 225t; Chris Ryan 492; Margaret Thacker 489 (for Edward); Daniel Lee 28t; Geraldine Sharpton 347; Jared Wootten 475; Wanda Capps 203 (for Velton Chafin and Brenda Chafin); Travis Peek 277; Bruce Coates 36b; Lisa Bennett 169; Garrett Morton and Earnest Lacy 421; Gail Doss 567; Paul Figura 146; Tom George 545; Ann Jett 37b; Chris Ballinger 84; Shelby Castillo 422; Matt Hinton 418; Shirley Figura 299; David Killingsworth 401.

The class moved to the cemetery and sang in memory of the deceased. Leaders: Kelsey Ivey 45t; Shane Wootten 500 (CB); David Ivey 572 (CB); Loyd Ivey 511b (CB); Shane Wootten 571 (CB).


Richard Ivey led 56t to bring the class back together. Leaders: David Smead 440; Deb Morton, Reba Windom, Scott Ivey, Garrett Morton, Shelby Castillo, Betty Shepherd, and Josh Collier 512, 216; Margaret Keeton and Nicholas Thompson 340; Anna Hinton 383; Ted Brown 546; Anna Wootten 87; Rodney Ivey and Amy Wootten 436; Sarah Jenkins and Joel Jenkins 208; Grace Whitener, Allison Whitener, and Everett Ivey 399b; Silas Huckaby 500; Ezra Lloyd and Malachi Lloyd 108b; Beverly Coates and Abby Huckaby 99; Sylvia Ivey, Jaden Hunt, and Scott Ivey 392 (CB); Lori Graber 180; Jackie Tanner and Cindy Tanner 182; Barrett Patton 336 (in memory of his grandparents); Lisa Geist 377; Caden Wilks and Rex Wilks 29t; Jack Stiefel and John Stiefel 348b; Marlon Wootten and Wayne Wootten 31t; Gideon Lloyd 30b; Tony Ivey 147b; Joyce Whittington 171.


The afternoon session began with David Ivey leading 101t. Leaders: Blake Sisemore 556; Jamey Wootten 441; Beverly Coates 95; Phil Summerlin 565; Jonathon Smith 181; Sarah Trumbore 430; Earl Ballinger 439; Sarah Huckaby 163t; Isaac Lloyd 228; Karen Freund 77t (for Lynne deBenedette and in memory of Jerry Enright); Eddie Mash 235; Alex Forsyth 411; Shane Wootten 484 (CB) (in honor of the veterans present); Dennis George 527; Larry Ballinger and Linton Ballinger 314; Karen Ivey, Grace Whitener, Richard Ivey, and Everett Ivey 200; Justin Bowen 275b; Helen Brown 522; Marty Wootten, Shane Wootten, and Wayne Wootten 318 (in memory of Eloise Wootten); Jesse P. Karlsberg 434; Judy Caudle 88t; Henry Johnson 213b; Lauren Bock 212; Reba Windom 542; Syble Adams 47b; Loyd Ivey, Marian Biddle, and Doug Ivey 501 (CB); David Ivey 518 (CB) (by request); Scott Ivey 57 (by request).

Kelsey Ivey, Marlon Wootten, and Loyd Ivey led 62 as the closing song. Tony Ivey offered the closing prayer, and the class was dismissed.

Chairman—Kelsey Ivey; Vice Chairman—Shane Wootten; Secretary—Cheyenne Ivey