Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 2023 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Conference for the Society of American Music

Wirth Opera Studio, McGill University, Montreal, Quebec, Canada

Thursday, March 23, 2017

The 23rd annual Conference of the Society for American Music Sacred Harp Singing, held at the Wirth Opera Studio of McGill University was called to order at 7:00 p.m. by Ron Pen offering opening remarks, and leading 73b. Song selections were from the Sacred Harp, 1991 Edition.

Leaders: Erin Fulton 82t; Jesse Karlsberg 83t; Sondra Howe 159; Philippe Doyle Gosselin 39t; Kevin Kehrberg 373; Masti Mayrand 335; Marie Hamilton and Patrick DeDauw 284; Deane Root 457; Phillipa Rispin and Phillipe Doyle Gosselin 183; Mark Clague 163b; Patrick DeDauw 512; Austin Stewart 504; Esther Wade and Cal Higgins 38b; Kerry Cullinan 29t; Ron Pen 455.


Leaders: Jesse Karlsberg 202; Patrick DeDauw and Alvino Forbes 114; Phillipa Rispin and Philippe Doyle Gosselin 53; Marie Hamilton 344; Sondra Howe 107; Mark Clague 186; Esther Wade and Cal Higgins 86; Kevin Kehrberg and John Thomerson 186; Kerry Cullinan 313t; Austin Stewart and Deane Root 254; Masti Mayrand 515; Philippe Doyle Gosselin 534; Erin Fulton and Christy Miller 383.

Ron Pen led 267 while the parting hand was shared. Deane Root delivered a parting prayer, and the class was dismissed.

The Society for American Music Singing is scheduled in conjunction with the Society’s annual conference, the date and site of the meeting vary each year. The 2018 singing will be held in Kansas City, Missouri.

Chairman—Ron Pen; Session Chairman—Jesse Karlsberg; Secretary—Erin Fulton