Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 2023 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

State Line Church

Near Muscadine, Cleburne County, Alabama

Saturday, April 11, 2015

The annual Sacred Harp singing held at State Line Church, off Hwy 78 at the Georgia/Alabama state line in Cleburne County, Alabama, was held on Saturday before the second Sunday in April. The class was called to order by Rodney Ivey leading 32t. The opening prayer was offered by Eric Tweedy.

The following officers were retained to serve: Chairman—Rodney Ivey; Vice Chairman—B.M. Smith; Secretary—Judy Caudle; Arranging Officer—Judy Chambless.

Leaders: Rodney Ivey 318 (for B.M. Smith); Judy Caudle 85; Judy Chambless 82t; Cecil Roberts 312b; Robert Chambless 303 (in memory of Jeff and Shelbie Sheppard); Philip Denney 142; Margaret Thacker 569b; Pam Nunn 216 (in memory of Shelbie Sheppard); Jack Nelson 560; Andy Ditzler 270; Ed Thacker 507 (in memory of Josie Hyde); Rene Greene 186 (in memory of Jeff Sheppard); Helen Bryson 456; Samuel Williams 203; Eric Tweedy 442; Susan Cherones 460; Wyatt Denney 294; Denney Rogers and Karen Rollins 225t.


Rodney Ivey led 170 to bring the class together. Leaders: Erica Hinton 175; Scott Ivey 340 (for Dr. Bill Stewart); David Brodeur 224; Drew McGuire 313t; Eli Hinton 146; Loyd Ivey 454; Daniel Williams 123b; Jesse P. Karlsberg 126; Cassie Allen 373; Cheyenne Ivey 212; Chris Wilhelm 132; Darrell Swarens and Karen Rollins 389 (in memory of Lonnie Rogers); Chris Tweedy 156; Angela Myers 464; Rebecca Over 299; Laura Densmore 522.


The class was brought back to order by Wyatt Denney leading 457. Leaders: Henry Johnson 82b; John Plunkett 50b; Richard DeLong 399b; Lauren Bock 546; Oscar McGuire 556; Matt Hinton 99; Reba Windom 411; Jerry Creason and Ann Sibole 481, 189.

The memorial lesson was conducted by Helen Bryson. Helen spoke and read the poetry of “All Saints” (White Book). Cassie Allen led 121 in honor of the following sick and shut-ins: Mona Nelson, B.M. Smith, S.T. Reed, Wayne Reed, Skip Trout, Serita Spadoni, Phil Manthey, Toney Smith, Lavoy Smith, Evelyn Harris, Hester Edwards, and Don Bowen.

Helen then read the poetry from “For God’s Promise” (Old School Hymnal) and led 347 in memory of the following deceased: Lewis Norton, Hobert Ivey, Audress Gurley, Betty Wright, Sammie Oliver, and Stanly Edwards—Alabama; Raymond Hamrick, Joyce Harrison, Junie Wooten, and Josephine Denney—Georgia; Ruth Densmore—Pennsylvania; Danny Arms—North Carolina. Eric Tweedy offered prayer to close the memorial service.


The afternoon session began with Scott Ivey leading 138t. Leaders: Lisa Bennett 44; Donna Bell 300; David Smead 70b; Earlis McGraw 475; Chris McKnight 45t; Charlene Wallace 171; Fallon Cook 215; Winfred Kerr 128; Robert Rivers 480; Rebecca Over 182; Shelby Castillo 436; Laura Densmore 370; Darrell Swarens 36b; Cassie Allen 419; Chris Wilhelm 564; Samuel Williams 183; Drew McGuire and Scott Ivey 432; Daniel Williams 101b; Wyatt Denney 277; Pam Nunn, Rene Greene, and Fallon Cook 269; Loyd Ivey 283; Ed Thacker, Judy Caudle, and Henry Johnson 206; Cassie Allen and Oscar McGuire 485.

Announcements were made. Rodney Ivey and Cecil Roberts led 521 as the closing song. Cecil Roberts offered the closing prayer.

Chairman—Rodney Ivey; Vice Chairman—B.M. Smith; Secretary—Judy Caudle