Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 2023 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Cleburne County Convention

Edwardsville Baptist Church,
Edwardsville, Cleburne County, Alabama

Sunday, August 19, 2012

The 123rd session of the Cleburne County Convention was held at Edwardsville Baptist Church in Edwardsville, Cleburne County, Alabama, on the third Sunday in August. Cecil Roberts called the class to order leading 146 (in honor of Lois Bowman) from a 1936 edition of The Sacred Harp donated to the convention in 1942 by Med and Al Huester in memory of J.W. Laminack. The book was given with explicit instructions that the only time it can be used is for the introductory lesson of the Cleburne County Convention. Ed Thacker offered the morning prayer.

Cecil Roberts led 129, and then cited a brief history of the convention. Leaders: Donna Bell 163b (in memory of Ronnie Kimball); B.M. Smith 68b, 48t; Margaret Thacker 46, 480; Jeff Sheppard 402, 209; Karen Rollins 208, 136; Jesse Pearlman Karlsberg 135, 511; Hayden Arp 283, 409; Robert Chambless 70t (in honor of his mother, and in memory of his aunt), 32t; Charlene Wallace 63, 155 (in honor of Carlene Griffin); Henry Johnson 88b, 113; Fallon Cook and Cain Cook 47b, 401.


David Brodeur led 282 and 454 to bring the class back to order. Leaders: Ed Thacker 527, 528; Judy Chambless 64, 472; Earlis McGraw 284, 163t; Virginia Dyer 340, 358; Tommy McGraw 399b, 542; Marilyn Bradley (with friends, the Todd and Rhonda Brown family) 59, 58; John Plunkett 92, 483; Susan Cherones 40, 107; Tony Hammock 303, 314; Ruth Daniel 335, 378t; Evelyn Harris 47t, 503; Ann Simpson 452, 354b; Margie Smith 512, 225t; David Brodeur and Pam Nunn 269; Rene Greene 350; Cecil Roberts 35. Rev. Bobby Garner, pastor of the church, offered the blessing before the noon meal at the table.


The afternoon session began with Cecil Roberts leading 30b. Leaders: Karen Rollins and Joann Ward 354t; Ed Thacker and Margaret Thacker 33b; Robert Chambless and Judy Chambless 37b.

Cecil Roberts conducted the memorial lesson. B.M. Smith led 389 in memory of the following deceased: Lonnie Rogers, Harrison Creel, Marie Ivey, Dr. Julietta Haynes, Homer Hulsey, and Nick Griffin.

Virginia Dyer led 127 for the following sick and shut-ins: Lois Bowman, Teenie Moody, Shelbie Sheppard, Bud Oliver, Sammie Oliver, S.T. Reed, Lessie Reed, Carlene Griffin, Eunice Webb, Lucy Garner, and Curtis Owen. The memorial lesson was closed with prayer offered by Henry Johnson.

Leaders: Jesse Pearlman Karlsberg 345b; Susan Cherones 74b; Tony Hammock 89; Charlene Wallace 345t; Jeff Sheppard 186; Rene Greene 200; Hayden Arp 112; Fallon Cook 192; Henry Johnson 69 (t? b?); Ann Simpson 111t; Earlis McGraw 277; Marilyn Bradley 124.

A business session was held to elect officers for the coming year. The following officers were elected or appointed to serve: Chairman—Cecil Roberts; Vice Chairman—Rene Greene; Secretary—Donna Bell. The class voted to have the next Cleburne County Convention at Edwardsville Baptist Church, Edwardsville, Alabama, on the third Sunday in August, 2013.

Announcements were made. Cecil Roberts thanked everyone for coming, and then led 347 as the closing song. Ed Thacker offered the closing prayer, and the class was dismissed.

Chairman—Cecil Roberts; Vice Chairman—Rene Greene; Secretary—Donna Bell