Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 2023 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Jack Smith Memorial Singing

Oakhurst Baptist Church, Decatur, Georgia

Monday, May 30, 2011

The 11th session of the Jack Smith Memorial Sacred Harp Singing was held at Oakhurst Baptist Church in Decatur, Georgia. John Plunkett called the class to order at 10:00 a.m. leading 32t. He spoke briefly about Jack Smith, a singer who was responsible for introducing many Atlanta area singers to the Sacred Harp tradition. John Hollingsworth offered the opening prayer.

Leaders: John Plunkett 145t; Joan Durdin 479; Malinda Snow 107; Andy Morse 99 (in memory of Roy Morse); Ellen Lea 311; Martha Ann Stegar 347 (in memory of Emily Calhoun); Eliza Marcus 224; James Welsch and Darren Southworth 112; Leigh Cooper 56t; Jesse Karlsberg 31t (in memory of George Seiler); Buck Lea 29t; J.R. Hardman 45t; Jonathan Wood 335; Debora Grosse 344; Eric Tweedy 385b; John Kelso 271b.

The following officers were elected or appointed to serve: Chairman—John Plunkett; Vice Chairman—Joan Durdin; Secretary—Malinda Snow.


Joan Durdin brought the class together leading 148. Leaders: Billy Hollingsworth 492; Bert Collins and Glenda Collins 340; George Burnette 81t; Lauren Pedersen 68b (in memory of Kathleen Deptulski); Bob Goodman 145b; Mark Godfrey 39b; Tony Hammock 138b (in memory of Mary Florence Smith); John Hollingsworth 186 (for his wife, Elsie, on their fifty-first anniversary); Ellie Soler 159 (for Sally MacEwan); Jesse Karlsberg, Peggy Barlett, and Kathy Cline 267; Malinda Snow 198; Andy Morse 500; Ellen Lea 496; Martha Ann Stegar 47t; Eliza Marcus 388. Eric Tweedy asked the blessing before the noon meal.


John Plunkett called the class to order leading 452. Leaders: James Welsch 105; Leigh Cooper 36b; Buck Lea 349; J.R. Hardman 183; David Brodeur 40; Jonathan Wood 64; Shannon Primm 201; Debora Grosse 460; Eric Tweedy 200; John Kelso and R.W. Sapp 324; Janet Wuichet 49b; Billy Hollingsworth 236; Glenda Collins and Bert Collins 101t; George Burnette and Alexandra Cannon 417; Alexandra Cannon 316; Bob Goodman 63; Mark Godfrey 203; John Hollingsworth 408 (for Bernice Embry); Ellie Soler 277; Shannon Primm 276; James Welsch 436; Buck Lea 315; Ellen Lea 291; Jesse Karlsberg 428; John Kelso 115; Andy Morse 178; John Plunkett 31b (for Andy Anderson).

After announcements, John Plunkett led 323t, and Andy Morse offered the closing prayer.

Chairman—John Plunkett; Vice Chairman—Joan Durdin; Secretary—Malinda Snow