Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 2023 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

The “Connexion” and Jeremiah Ingalls Singing

First Congregational Church Vestry Hall, Newbury, Vermont

Saturday, July 18, 2009

Tom Malone welcomed singers to the 5th annual “Connexion” and Jeremiah Ingalls Singing in Newbury, Vermont. The singing was from The Sacred Harp, 1991 Edition, and Jeremiah Ingalls’s 1805 edition of The Christian Harmony (ICH).

The following officers were elected or appointed to serve: Chairpersons—Tom Malone and Joanna Lampert; Secretary—Jennie Brown.

Tom Malone opened the singing by leading 435. Liz Cantrell offered the opening prayer.

Leaders: Joanna Lampert 32t; Jennie Brown 72b; Bill Holt 47t; Rick Johnston 39t; Elka Schumann 164; Nathan Zwieg 31b; Chris Noren 40; Justin Levi 314; Liz Cantrell 318; Peter Golden 86; Ines Lüttgen 460; Rachel Stevens 148; George Sigut 178; Linda Shea 157; Allison Schofield 74b; Dan Hertzler 67; Don Towle 299; L.H. Spencer 95; Sue Hengelsberg 504; Deanna Anderson 31t; Lauren Bock 48b; Jesse Pearlman Karlsberg 138t.


The class was called back together by Tom Malone leading 2 (ICH). Leaders: Peter Golden 53 (ICH); Don Towle 46 (ICH); Ines Lüttgen 186 (ICH); Joanna Lampert 32 (ICH); Chris Noren 124 (ICH); Allison Schofield 50 (ICH); Justin Levi 25 (ICH); Nathan Zwieg 243 (ICH); Elka Schumann 44 (ICH); Dan Hertzler 35 (ICH); Lauren Bock 143 (ICH); Bill Holt 5 (ICH); Jennie Brown 59 (ICH); Rick Johnston 60 (ICH); Terry Ryan 43 (ICH); L.H. Spencer 92 (ICH); Jesse Pearlman Karlsberg 215 (ICH).

Tom Malone conducted the memorial lesson and invited Joanna Lampert to join him in leading 115 (ICH) for the following sick and homebound: Victoria Bolles, Joanne Bowman, Ariel Gernes, Suman Kandlikar, Harriette Pearlman, Myles Schofield, and Ruth Young.

Laura Timmerman and Tom Malone led 208 (ICH) for the following deceased: Fenno Heath—Connecticut; Carol Ware—Massachusetts; Richard Altman, Stefan Brecht, Bob Guida, Louis Ryan—New York; Mae-Ann Stevens—New Hampshire; George Young, Mike Peters—Vermont; Katya Durseneva—Latvia; Svetlana Sevaskul—Russia. Liz Cantrell closed the memorial lesson with prayer.

Leaders: Chris Noren 207 (ICH); Ines Lüttgen 221 (ICH); Don Towle 65 (ICH). Don Towle offered the blessing for the noon meal.


Tom Malone brought the afternoon session to order leading 180 (ICH). Leaders: Irene Lawrence 29t; Laura Timmerman 192; Laura Krueger 168; George Sigut 480; Rachel Stevens 268; Deanna Anderson 209; Sue Hengelsberg 294; Liz Cantrell 283; Linda Shea 371; Bill Holt 454; Lauren Bock 179 (ICH); Justin Levi 190 (ICH); Nathan Zwieg 193 (ICH); Allison Schofield 15 (ICH); Jennie Brown 175 (ICH); Peter Golden 48 (ICH); Terry Ryan 114 (ICH); Joanna Lampert 105 (ICH); Dan Hertzler 185 (ICH); Rick Johnston 55 (ICH); Elka Schumann 198.


Tom Malone led 236 (ICH) to call the class back together. Leaders: Tom Malone 238 (ICH); Jesse Pearlman Karlsberg 188 (ICH); L.H. Spencer 117 (ICH); Chris Noren 217; Don Towle 47 (ICH); Laura Timmerman 149 (ICH); Ines Lüttgen 173 (ICH); Laura Krueger 162; Irene Lawrence 312b; Deanna Anderson 203; Linda Shea 430; George Sigut 87; Rachel Stevens 146; Terry Ryan 344; Liz Cantrell 313t; Sue Hengelsberg 175; Tom Malone 61 (ICH), 108 (ICH).

Jennie Brown opened the business meeting by reporting that 86 songs had been led by 26 leaders, that 49 singers from 10 states and 2 foreign countries had registered, and that expenses had been met. Tom Malone thanked the class for their generosity, and individually thanked singers in attendance for their support of the Ingalls singing throughout the years. Finally, a motion was put forward to nominate Ben Bath chairman of the 6th annual “Connexion” and Ingalls Singing, to be held in July 2010. The business meeting was closed.

Tom Malone led 57 (ICH) as the closing song. Don Towle offered the closing prayer, and the class was dismissed.

Chairpersons—Tom Malone and Joanna Lampert; Secretary—Jennie Brown