Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 2023 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Pioneer Valley All-Day Singing

First Congregational Church Chapel, Sunderland, Massachusetts

Saturday, June 30, 2012

The 12th session of the Pioneer Valley All-Day Singing was called to order at 10:00 a.m. by Sheldon Finlay leading 68b. The morning prayer was offered by Amy Finlay.

Leaders: Eric Morgan 171; Jeremy Galvagni 100; Linda Shea 475; Kelsey Wessels 87; Andrew Magee 512; Molly Merrett and Maggie Shar 81t; Kestrel Slocombe 299; Rick Johnston 213t; Emily Hale-Sills 540; Mary Skidmore 547; Amy Findlay 168; Ed Smith 564; Lydia Vernon-Jones 50b; Mary Jo Shafer 101t; Martha Lang 106; John Davis 112; Sally Langendorf 32t; Elisabeth Bogal-Allbritten 163t; Leonard Spencer 95.

The following officers were elected or appointed to serve: Chairman—Sheldon Finlay; Vice Chairman—Eric Morgan; Secretary—Jeremy Galvagni; Memorial Committee—John Holbrook and Allison Steel.


Peter Irvine called the class back to order by leading 37b. Leaders: Sinead O’Mahoney 198; Liz Cantrell 456; Mike Nord 485; Nicola Collett 245; Tom Padwa 515; Sheila Kelley 216; Joseph Dunn 85; Miles Louis-Dakan 428; Cristin McMurray 179; Ron Bornick 454; Lynn deBenedette and the finance committee 144; Nathan Bergman-Dean 567; Katy Brown 66; Brian Collett 218; Laura Timmerman 546; Christina Wallin 133; Terry Ryan 538; Ines Lüttgen 522; George Pomfret 137.


Jeremy Galvagni and Alaric Galvagni called the class back to order by leading 376. Leaders: Caitlin Caulfield 128; Jacqueline Barnard 313t; Kathy Collet 315.

John Holbrook conducted a memorial lesson in remembrance of the following deceased: Joseph Superneau, Roger Cartwright, Jimmy, Dennis Linehan, Mike Wells, Helen Wight, Susan Brady, Dorothy Halchuk, Julie Holbrook, Poppy Gregory—Massachusetts; Marjorie Kagay, Zack Frates, Russell Lang, Stephen Mendelsohn—New York; Lonnie Rogers—Georgia; Harrison Creel, Marie Ivey—Alabama; Joseph Ost—Kansas; Danya Klie—Maine; David Shapiro—Quebec; Elma Carr—Ontario. He led 415 in their memory.

Allison Steel conducted a lesson for the following sick and homebound: Sylvia Kriebel, Mary Tollerton, Sarah Ruth Hewitt, Oliver Corrigan, Barbara Morcom, Peter Golden, and Leslie Johnson. She led 129. Tim Eriksen offered a prayer to close the memorial service.

Leaders: Eliza Cavanaugh 131b; Dan Hertzler 318; Barbara Swetman 64; Andy Johnathan 284. A prayer before lunch was offered by Kshama Ananthapura.


Amy Findlay called the class back to order by leading 217. Leaders: Matthew Léger-Small 242; Tom Malone 187; Paula Picton 336; Lynn deBenedette 542; Kshama Ananthapura 270; Allison Steel 142; Kelly House 532; Jean Seiler 273; Eric Morgan 480; Tim Eriksen 192; Peter Irvine 448t; Pat Callahan 497; Bill Holt 352; Joanna Lampert 353; Kitty Kagay 302; Ron Woodland 49b; Kate Richardson 269; Evelyn Lamb 434; Anne Kazlauskas 42; Jack Sullivan 189; Michael Kaye 176b.


Jan-Erik Steel led 89 to bring the class back to order. Leaders: Charles Taylor 505; Ruth Hooke 155; Kelsey Wessels 47t; Cheri Hardy 86; Margaret Bornick 486; Bob Mills 276; Matthew Wojcik 182; Sasha Hsuczyk 56b; John Holbrook 523; Dan Hertzler 384; Liz Cantrell 492; Tom Malone 560; Don Herald 63; Magdalena Zapedowska-Eriksen 335; Jean Seiler 472; Pat Callahan 153; Paula Picton and Christine McMurray 411; Sheldon Finlay 383.

The business meeting was called to order by Sheldon Finlay. The finance committee report was given by John Holbrook. Secretary Jeremy Galvagni reported that 91 songs had been led by 72 leaders. The Resolutions Committee thanked all those responsible for the success of the singing.

Following announcements, Sheldon Finlay, Eric Morgan, and Jeremy Galvagni led 62 as the closing song. Eric Morgan offered the closing prayer, and the class was dismissed.

Chairman—Sheldon Finlay; Vice Chairman—Eric Morgan; Secretary—Jeremy Galvagni