Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Pine Grove Singing

Lookout Mountain, Near Collinsville, Alabama

Sunday, April 15, 2012

The annual Sacred Harp singing at Pine Grove Church, near Collinsville, Alabama, was held on the third Sunday in April. The class was called to order by Bud Oliver leading 32t. The morning prayer was offered by Wayne Reed.

The following officers were elected or appointed to serve: Chairman—Bud Oliver; Vice Chairman—S.T. Reed; Secretary—Judy Caudle; Arranging Officer—Cassie Allen.

Leaders: Wayne Reed 59; Scot Oliver 100; Alanna Blanks 405; Paula Oliver 385b; Judy Caudle 91; Cassie Allen 373; Bridgett Kennedy, Barbara Traynor, Cathy Paulenski, and Margaret Imbro 37b; Eschol Hughes 436; Robert Walker 350; Claudene Townson 49b; Judy Mincey 475; Henry Johnson 435; Margaret Thacker 39b; Scott Kennedy 454; Terry Wootten 132.


Wayne Reed led 108b to bring the class back to order. Leaders: Susan Cherones 107; Ed Thacker 546; Jamey Wootten 472; Boyd Scott 358; Fallon Cook 47t; Nate Green and Norma Green 63; Shane Wootten and Linda Thomas 39t; Loretta Smith and Amy Smith 317; David Hufstetler 47b; Joan Aldridge 29t; Dewayne Wootten and Jared Wootten 170; Larry Ballinger 551; Sharon DuPriest 137; Dennis George 455; Elene Stovall 142; Richard Ivey 270; Angela Myers 84.


The class was brought back together by Bud Oliver leading 42.

Leaders: Michael Thompson 318; Jim Brown and Samford University students 159, 155; Scott Ivey 421; Jared Wootten and Hayden Wootten 441; David Ivey and Karen Ivey 371; Reba Windom 411; Blake Sisemore 550; Susan Harcrow 511; Donna Wootten 314; Rodney Ivey 73t; Marty Wootten 99; Cheyenne Ivey 77t; Charles Stiefel 465 (CB); S.T. Reed 566. Wayne Reed offered the blessing before the noon meal.


The afternoon session was called to order by Bud Oliver leading 145t.

Leaders: Coy Ivey 384; Levon Wootten 330t; Angela Myers and Judy Caudle 216 (for Betty Shepherd); Elene Stovall, Joan Aldridge, and Bridgett Kennedy 440; Susan Harcrow and Scott Ivey 172; Shane Wootten and Donna Wootten 383; Michael Thompson and Judy Mincey 182; Nate Green and Norma Green 153; Reba Windom, Sharon DuPriest, and Daphene Causey 434; Ed Thacker and Margaret Thacker 192; Cheyenne Ivey and Paula Oliver 215; Susan Cherones and Dennis George 217; Jared Wootten, Jamey Wootten, and Hayden Wootten 40; Henry Johnson and Fallon Cook 69t; Loretta Smith and Amy Smith 348b; Claudene Townson, Linda Thomas, and Rodney Ivey 277 (for Jewel Wootten); Marty Wootten and Levon Wootten 176b; Scott Kennedy and Robert Walker 171; Richard Ivey, Karen Ivey, and David Ivey 470; Jim Brown, Meg Newsome, Kathleen Bass, Kyle Young, and Evan Musgraves 268; Terry Wootten and Larry Ballinger 138t; Boyd Scott 127; Eschol Hughes 480; Charles Stiefel, Reba Windom, and Cassie Allen 196; Scot Oliver, Alanna Blanks, and Pauline Oliver 143; Blake Sisemore and Cassie Allen 419; Shane Wootten 70b (by request).

Bud Oliver, Wayne Reed, and Scot Oliver led 146 as the closing song. Henry Johnson offered the closing prayer, and the class was dismissed.

Chairman—Bud Oliver; Vice Chairman—S.T. Reed; Secretary—Judy Caudle