Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 2023 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Alvis Brothers and B.I. Wood Memorial Singing

Pilgrim’s Rest Primitive Baptist Church, Attalla, Alabama

November 7, 1999

The annual Sacred Harp singing held at Pilgrim’s Rest Primitive Baptist Church was called to order by Ron Crocker leading song on page 47t. Othie Chamblee led the morning prayer. Carmon Brothers led songs on pages 74t, 172, and 512 in memory of Alvis Brothers.

The class was organized with the following officers elected or appointed to serve: Chairman—Ron Crocker; Vice Chairman—Lamar Smith; Secretary—Hazel Brothers; Arranging Committee—Ella Ruth Chamblee and Ruby Brothers.

Leaders: Ron Crocker 146; Seth Crocker 452b; Andrew Crocker 128, 127; Danielle Crocker 49t, 401, 36b; John Merritt 358, 68b; Amy Crocker 48t, 354b; Brenda Merritt 129, 124; Randall Smith and Lamar Smith 76b, 343b, “That Beautiful Land”.


Ron Crocker brought the class to order leading song on page 147t. Leaders: Carmon Brothers and Ruby Brothers 569b, 112, 340; Billie Dean Waid, Gloria Hutchens, Avie Blackwood, and Doris Brown “What A Day That Will Be” (OSH), “A Light At The River” (OSH), 490, 119; Phil Brothers 274t, 361; Hazel Brothers, Kathy Brothers, and Sherry Tanner 460, “Brown”, 141, 373; Linda Thomas 345b, 39t, 73b; Milton Oliver 335, 321.


The afternoon session began with Ron Crocker leading song on page 38b. Leaders: Coleman Crocker 75, 138b; Deborah Ritch 385b; Chita Blakeley 57, 123t; Joycie Wooten and Ovada Carr 122, 40; Ella Ruth Raines and Billie Dean Waid 39b, 77 (t? b?), 495; Andrew Crocker 294, 388; Danielle Crocker 159, 84, 87, 143; Amy Crocker 410t, 45t, 235b; Andrew Crocker 58, 59, 31t, 445b; John Merritt and Brenda Merritt 448b, 448t; Deborah Ritch 490.

Ron Crocker led song on page 285t as the closing song. The class was dismissed with prayer led by Elder Cook.

Chairman—Ron Crocker; Vice Chairman—Lamar Smith; Secretary—Hazel Brothers.