Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Alvis Brothers and B. I. Wood Memorial Singing

Pilgrim’s Rest Primitive Baptist Church, south of Attalla, Alabama

November 1, 1998

The annual Sacred Harp singing held at Pilgrim’s Rest Primitive Baptist Church was called to order by Carmon Brothers leading songs on pages 59 and 45 (t? b?). The morning prayer was led by Ron Crocker. Carmon Brothers led songs on pages 172 and 274t in memory of B.I. Wood and Alvis Brothers.

The class was organized for the day by electing the following officers: Chairman—Ron Crocker; Vice Chairman—Carmon Brothers; Secretary—Hazel Brothers; Arranging Committee—Ella Ruth Chamblee and Ruby Brothers.

Leaders: Ron Crocker 108t, 138b; Seth Crocker 63, 128; Danielle Crocker 274t; Ella Ruth Chamblee 39b, 569b; Lamar Smith 76b, 36b; Martha Woodard 87, 335; Randall Smith 32t, 48t; Judy Caudle 47t, 52t.


Ron Crocker brought the class to order leading songs on pages 30t and 31b. Leaders: Phil Brothers 354 (t? b?), 294; Linda Thomas 82 (t? b?), 40, 129; Hazel Brothers and Kathy Brothers 186, 200, 44; Deborah Ritch 100, 108b, “My Lasting Sun Is Sinking Fast”; Billie Dean Waid, Doris Brown, and Avie Blackwood 490, 146, 126; Waylon Blakeley 125, 127, 358.


The class was called back in session by Ron Crocker leading song on page 31t. Leaders: Chita Blakeley 57, 460 (in memory of Savola Wimpee); Calvin Rogers 452b, 72b, 175, 49b (in memory of Ed Waid); Ovada Carr 87; Judy Caudle 448b, 448t; Linda Thomas 410t; Judy Caudle 163t, “Pray On”; Waylon Blakeley “That Beautiful Land”; Billie Dean Waid and Doris Brown 143, 454; Hazel Brothers and Kathy Brothers “Brown”, “Jesus Died For Me”; Deborah Ritch 373; Danielle Crocker 58.

Ron Crocker led song on page 285t for the closing song. The class was dismissed with prayer by Rodger Brothers.

Chairman—Ron Crocker; Vice Chairman—Carmon Brothers; Secretary—Hazel Brothers.