Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Mt. Zion Methodist Church

Mercer County, Kentucky

Sunday, December 11, 2022

Prior to singing, James Thobaben welcomed visitors to his church and Ron Pen gave a brief singing school, explaining the scale, intervals, voice parts, and teaching the notes of 45t. Jonathan Powers called our twentieth annual singing at this church to order with prayer. Song selections were from The Sacred Harp, 1991 Edition and The Southern Harmony. Leaders: Mary Brinkman 73b; Tim Morton 68b; Randy Webber “Nun komm, der heiden Heiland” (his own arrangement); Donna Kwon 47t; Jonathan Powers 81t; Rafael Finkel 66; Diane Arnson Svarlien and Randy Webber 95; Jim Thobaben and Ron Pen 47b; Amy Pemberton 117; Michelle Cull 273; Alana Boltz 87; Adrian Eldridge 186.


Leaders: Jim Thobaben and Ron Pen 16 (SoH); Annaliza Cull 215; Joy R. Dunn 46 (SoH); Ron Pen 455; James Martin and Erin Fulton 333; Erin Fulton 32 (SoH); Tim Morton 485; Annaliza Cull 217; Randy Webber 115 (SoH); Ivy Jackson and Tim Morton 445; Adrian Eldridge 512; Michelle Cull 162; Marcelyn Thobaben and Ron Pen 128; Annaliza Cull 155 (by request). Kathleen Halpin spoke a grace. Jim Thobaben led 267 as the class took the parting hand and dismissed to a soup supper prepared by the church members. Our assembly included fifty-one singers from Indiana, Kansas, Kentucky, Massachusetts, and Ireland.

Chairman—James Thobaben; Secretary—Erin Fulton