Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

West Yorkshire Sacred Harp Day

Haworth Methodist Church, Haworth,
West Yorkshire, United Kingdom

Saturday, November 16, 2019

The 17th annual West Yorkshire Sacred Harp Day took place at Haworth Methodist Church, in the United Kingdom, on Saturday before the third Sunday in November. Chris Brown began the day by leading 47t. John Copperwheat offered the opening prayer.

Leaders: Chris Brown 285t (in memory of Sally Lucy); Emily Verrier 99; Vicki Elliott 131t; Jacoba Bruneel 30b; Matthew Parkinson 108t; Helen Brown 138b (for Joe Vickers); Eimear O’Donovan 72b; Michael Walker 104; Calum Woods 52b; Liz Lawson 38t; Benny Ross 274t; Joshua Lant 274b; Leilai Immel Parkinson 225t; Oskar Kvasnes 147b; Claire Welford 217; Ted Brown 36b; Joe Jones 372.


Vicki Elliott called the class to order by leading 81t. Leaders: George Simms 91; Matthew Mason 89; Joyce Smith 390; Colin Monson 107; Rosalind Woods 163t; Anna Baldini 159; Derek Buckland 108b; Cath Ingham 148; Julie Russell 178; Lizzie Dye 277; Inga Huebner 118.

Michael Walker conducted the memorial lesson and read the following list of names of the deceased: Bill Steel—Bolton; Carolyn Williams—Keighley; John Stonnell—Castle Douglas; Sean Jennings—Hathersage; Sally Lucy—Ilminster; Jack Nathan—London; Heather Simms—Leeds; Anne Joel—Derby; Stuart Russell—Derbyshire; Sylvia Thomas—Birkenhead; Claire Hamblin—Wix; Roberto Cavallar and Irene Antolini—Italy; Eugene Forbes and Rozlyn Greene—Alabama; Hugues Albanel—France; Wilfried Huels—Germany; Carole Chapman, Mildred Patterson, and Charlene Wallace—Georgia; Karl Walbrecht and Karen Yolton—Virginia; Marlene Spector Levine and Richard Levine—New Jersey; Doug Webb—Texas; Paul Wilson—Minnesota.

He also spoke for the following sick and housebound: John Hopkinson, Sonny Erwin, Curtis Owen, Melanie Hauff, Kathy Williams, Cath Saunt, Margaret Gregory, Dave Richardson, Don Walker, Charlotte Walker, Olivia Powell, Kevin Powell, Landis Powell, Lin James, Graham, Olivia Brockelhurst, John Donald, David Elliott, Bernard Sinclair, Alice Flanagan, and Ulrike Tietjen. Michael led 103, and Ted Brown said a prayer for them all.

Leaders: Judy Whiting 354t; Werner Ullah 278t; Jacoba Bruneel 349; Chris Brown 299; Joe Jones 280; Liz Lawson 157; Emily Verrier 227; Ted Brown 43. Benny Ross gave thanks for the noon meal.


Calum Woods called the class to order by leading 205. Leaders: Eimear O’Donovan 556; Joshua Lant 442; Claire Welford 362; Matthew Parkinson 402; Oskar Kvasnes 350; Helen Brown 377; Tom Sprackland 273; Inga Huebner 311; Michael Walker 306; Julie Russell 34b; Lizzie Dye 547; Liz Lawson 77t; Derek Buckland 29b; Cath Ingham 155; Rosalind Woods 269; Colin Monson 203; Joyce Smith 328; George Simms 232; Werner Ullah 29t.


George Simms called the class to order by leading 49b. Leaders: Emily Verrier 200; Calum Woods 225b; Judy Whiting 186; Rowan Tinker 183; Leilai Immel Parkinson, Matthew Parkinson, and Isaac Parkinson 128; Matthew Mason 335; Claire Welford 430; Oskar Kvasnes 88b; Joyce Smith 399b; Benny Ross 182; Helen Brown 546; Derek Buckland 74t; Tom Sprackland 315; Julie Russell 228; Michael Walker 475; Eimear O’Donovan 134; Cath Ingham 135; Matthew Parkinson 61; Joe Jones 370; Joshua Lant 101b.

Chris Brown thanked the church for their help and permission to use the wonderful singing space and all who attended and helped. It was agreed to meet again on Saturday before the third Sunday in November, 2020.

Chris Brown and Judy Whiting led 323t as the closing song. Ted Brown offered the closing prayer, and the class was dismissed.

Chairman—Chris Brown; Vice Chairman—Judy Whiting; Secretary—Jacoba Bruneel