Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 2023 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Steve Helwig Memorial Singing

The See House, St-Peter’s-By-The-Sea Episcopal Church,
Sitka, Alaska

Saturday, May 19, 2018

Since 2006, Steve Helwig was a vital influence in helping the remote Alaska Sacred Harp communities come together for conventions. He advised on singing school teachers, sponsored anchor singers from the Pacific Northwest and beyond to ensure a strong class, and took on many responsibilities during convention to teach those of us, not prone to frequent travel to other singings, how a convention was run. He taught singing schools in Sitka, Anchorage, and Ketchikan. He was trusting enough to be talked into co-facilitating the Alaska Sacred Harp Cruise in May, 2016, and was a huge part of its success. Alaskan singers felt it important to come together and honor our friend and mentor.

The class was called to order by Kari Lundgren leading 34b. The opening prayer was offered by Sylvia Friske. Leaders: Kari Lundgren 99, 146; Sara Beaber-Fujioka and Alexandra Fujioka 347, 31t; Joe Linden 122, 63; Sylvia Friske 107, 105; Brian Hullfish 82t, 277.


The class was called to order by Linda Janachek and Sara Beaber-Fujioka leading 178. Leaders: Maria D’Agostino 84; Pat Coghlan 492; Kari Lundgren 276, 162; Sara Beaber-Fujioka 236; Joe Linden 282, 457; Sylvia Friske and Maria D’Agnostino 47b; Sylvia Friske and Kari Lundgren 344; Brian Hullfish 268, 388; Linda Janachek and Joe Linden 86; Maria D’Agnostino 159. A prayer blessing the food was offered by Sylvia Friske.


The class was called to order by Pat Coghlan leading 351. Leaders: Kari Lundgren 479, 155; Sara Beaber-Fujioka 474, 157; Joe Linden 128; Sylvia Friske 135; Maria D’Agnostino 209. Pat Coghlan led 36b as the closing song. The closing prayer was offered by Sylvia Friske.

Chairman—Kari Lundgren