Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Huntsville Sacred Harp Singing

Burritt on the Mountain, Huntsville, Alabama

Saturday, May 5, 2018

The annual Huntsville Sacred Harp Singing was held on Saturday before the first Sunday in May in the Old Country Church at Burritt on the Mountain, Huntsville, Alabama. The class was called to order at 9:30 a.m. by David Ballinger leading 31b. Ron Harper offered the opening prayer.

The class was organized by electing or appointing the following officers to serve: Chairman—David Ballinger; Vice Chairman—Mark Carroll; Secretaries—Amanda Hardiman and Teresa Hope; Arranging Committee—Lomax Ballinger and Linton Ballinger.

Leaders: Teresa Hope 129; Lomax Ballinger 480; Frances Jones 45t; Jimmy Ballinger 84; Mark Carroll 138b; Amanda Hardiman and Addie Hardiman 108t; Richard Ivey 203; Jeanette Maddox Dewberry 189; Buddy Ballinger 343; Pam Wilkerson 85; John Huffman and Katie Huffman 48t; Linton Ballinger 421; Bea Aaron 456; Daniel Bearden 173; Nate Green and Norma Green 164; Phil Summerlin 270; Vella Dailey 59; Daniel Lee 411; Sarah Trumbore 475; Ron Harper 445; Gail Doss 501.


Rodney Ivey led 111t to bring the class back together. Leaders: Christopher Mann 106; Jeannette DePoy 460; Delone Cobbs 551; John Wendt and Carol Wendt 569b; Earl Ballinger 36b; Joyce Walton 455; Tom George 410b; Lilly Underwood and Loyd Ivey 454; Nicholas Thompson 276 (for Glenda Hopper); Beth Anne Clay 192.


Samuel Sommers led 96 to bring the class back together. Leaders: Tom Booth 425; Lisa Geist 528; Jim Aaron 47b; Kelsey Ivey 377; Ed Thacker 86; Barbara Chopin 474; Stephen Huffman 155; Judy Mincey 550; Larry Ballinger 394; Linda Thomas 131b; Sam Wright 121; Cheyenne Ivey 546; Michael Thompson 153; Susan Cherones 349; Eddie Mash 162; Mary Huffman 407; David Ivey 371. Gary Huffman offered the prayer before the noon meal.


The afternoon session began with David Ballinger leading 340. Leaders: Shane Wootten 49b; Henry Johnson 81t; Presley Barker 505; Scott DePoy 457; Karen Freund 442; Matt Hinton 430; David Carlton 492; Nathan Rees 380; Reba Windom 542; David Brodeur 402; Gideon Lloyd and Isaac Lloyd 157; David Jackson 499 (in memory of Floyd Frederick); Dan McSavage 172; Isaac Green 483; Alex Forsyth 322; Andy Ditzler 298; Karen Ivey, Allison Whitener, and Grace Whitener 146, 182; Ezra Lloyd and Malachi Lloyd 472; Justin Bowen 362; Gary Leopold 159; Amber Davis 224; Gary Huffman 198; Samuel Sommers 24b; Presley Barker 464; Lisa Geist 120 (in memory of Gravis Ballinger).

Following announcements, David Ballinger led 46 as the closing song. Buddy Ballinger offered the closing prayer, and the class was dismissed.

Chairman—David Ballinger; Vice Chairman—Mark Carroll; Secretaries—Amanda Hardiman and Teresa Hope