Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 2023 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Rogers Memorial Singing

Ephesus School, Roopville, Georgia

Sunday, March 4, 2018

The annual Rogers Memorial Singing was held on the first Sunday in March. The class was called to order at 9:30 a.m. by Denney Rogers leading 101t. The morning prayer was offered by Henry Johnson. Rodney Ivey led 89 and Judy Chambless led 97. A short business session was then held. Officers elected were as follows: Chairman—Denney Rogers, Vice Chairman—Rodney Ivey, Secretary—Karen Rollins; Arranger—Judy Chambless. Mayor Denney Rogers welcomed everyone to Ephesus.

Leaders: Elene Stovall 36b; Amber Davis 224; Henry Johnson 144; Jared Wootten 106; Loyd Ivey 213t; Lela Crowder 138t; April Watkins and Taylor Watkins 445; Lisa Bennet 444; Winfred Kerr 549; Lilly Underwood 457; Cheyenne Ivey 371; Nathan Rees 134; Margie Smith and Reba Windom 318 (in memory of B.M. Smith); Marty Wootten 76b; Buell Cobb 207.


Rodney Ivey brought the class back to order leading 389. Leaders: David Smead 534; Richard Mauldin 146; Shelby Castillo 498; Samuel Williams 196; the children of Laurie Silva 117; Gene Duke and Donna Duke 111b; Shane Wootten 448b; Isaac Green 541; Oscar McGuire 229; Judy Caudle 140 (in memory of Daphene Causey); Glenda Collins and Bert Collins 340 (in memory of Louise Holland); Sheri Taylor 209; John Plunkett 96; Karen Clark 446; Bobby Watkins 480; Judy Mincey 135; Anna Hinton 203; Richard DeLong 399b; Eli Hinton 148; Philip Denney and Gayle Denney 143; Nicholas Thompson 200 (for Barrett Patton).


The grandchildren of Lonnie Rogers (Barry Rollins, Laura Robinson, Randa Harris, Beverly Thompson, and Susan Rice) called the class back to order leading 345t. Cecil Roberts led 477. Amy Wootten and Coy Ivey led 384.

Karen Rollins conducted the memorial lesson. She talked about fellowship as one of the major blessings of Sacred Harp. She and her siblings (Karleen Williams, Paige Harrod, and Denney Rogers) led 45t for the following sick and shut-ins: Chris Holley, Virginia Futral, Idy Kiser, Ottis Sides, Velton Chafin, Ed Thacker, Margaret Thacker, Sherry Lovvorn, Jason Rowell, and Anne Chalker.

The following deceased singers and friends were also memorialized: Louise Holland, Hugh McGraw, Randy Yates, Janice Yarbrough, Robert Rogers, Joyce Runels, Edna Keel, Mike Taylor, and Jerry Rollins—Georgia; Darrell Swarens—Indiana; Steve Helwig—Oregon; Edith Owen—Texas; Daphene Causey, Reid Rogers, Gravis Ballinger, Eloise Wootten, Johnie Chafin, and Floy Wilder—Alabama. Philip Denney closed the memorial lesson with prayer.

Leaders: Matt Hinton 70b; Reba Windom 436; Robert Chambless 225t.

Announcements were made. Denney Rogers, Rodney Ivey, and Karen Rollins led 46 as the closing song. Karen Rollins offered the closing prayer and blessing for the meal. The singing was dismissed after lunch so that singers could travel to Bowdon to sing at the funeral of Louise Holland.

Chairman—Denney Rogers; Vice Chairman—Rodney Ivey; Secretary—Karen Rollins