Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 2023 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Burnham and Brown Memorial Singing

Wesley Foundation Student Center, Jacksonville, Alabama

Sunday, February 4, 2018

The 50th session of the annual Sacred Harp singing in memory of Uncle Bob Burnham, Leman Brown, and Ruth Brown was held on the first Sunday in February. The class was called to order by Pearl Guier leading 59. Henry Johnson offered the opening prayer. Pearl Guier welcomed the class and visitors.

Leaders: Tom George 213t; Judy Caudle 208 (in memory of Darrell Swarens); Nicholas Thompson 171; Dennis George 40; Paula Oliver 276; Lisa Bennett 77b (for Don Bowen and Charlene Wallace); Daniel Lee 28t; Henry Johnson 82b; Judy Chambless 82t; Jeannette DePoy 83t; Andy Ditzler 83b; Nathan Rees 298; Philip Denney 313t; Loyd Ivey 283; Kathy Williams 432; Samuel Sommers 476; David Smead 463 (for Velton Chafin); Scott Ivey 224; Karen Rollins and Denney Rogers 222 (in memory of Vivian Rogers); Susan Cherones 564 (in memory of Steve Helwig); Winfred Kerr 225t (for Rebecca Over); David Brodeur 153.


The class was brought back to order by Tom George leading 123t. Rodney Ivey led 421 (in memory of Bud Oliver).

The following officers were appointed to serve: Chairman—Kathy Williams; Vice Chairman—Tom George; Secretary—Judy Caudle; Arranging—Nicholas Thompson. The class endorsed the appointments.

Leaders: Rene Greene 528; Buell Cobb 177; Lilly Underwood and Loyd Ivey 426t; Linda Booth 84; Amber Davis 560; Richard Ivey 498; Isaac Green 541; Scott DePoy 65; Sherrell Cleino 335; Nate Green and Norma Green 460; Jesse P. Karlsberg 422; Reba Windom 411.


Nicholas Thompson led 200 to bring the class together. Leaders: Micah Roberts 26 (for Jesse Roberts); Lauren Bock 430; Judy Mincey 220; Robert Chambless 70t; David Ivey 217 (for Linda and Elwin Thomas); David Jackson 31t; Oscar McGuire 77t (for Asa McGuire); Cheyenne Ivey 76b; Bridgett Hill Kennedy 448t; Margie Smith and Rodney Ivey 475; Kelsey Ivey 309; Nell Whitman 228; Matt Hinton and Lottie Hinton 32t; Samuel Williams 163t; Alanna Blanks and Arleigh Beard 405. Henry Johnson asked a blessing before the noon meal.


The afternoon session began with Kathy Williams leading 172. Leaders: Shane Brown 66; Tom Booth 480; Kenneith Calvert 350; Sharon DuPriest and Reba Windom 546; Robert Chambless and Judy Chambless 527; Lisa Bennett and David Smead 548; David Brodeur and Andy Ditzler 327; Linda Booth and Tom Booth 481; Mary Huffman and Stephen Huffman 272, 442; Samuel Sommers and Scott Ivey 197; Samuel Williams 196; Nicholas Thompson and Judy Caudle 500; Jesse P. Karlsberg and Lauren Bock 181; Richard Ivey, Kelsey Ivey, and Everett Ivey 371; Amber Davis and Isaac Green 170; Nell Whitman and Bridgett Hill Kennedy 99; David Ivey, Loyd Ivey, Lilly Underwood, Lucey Rose Karlsberg, and Cheyenne Ivey 454; Jeannette DePoy and Scott DePoy 179; Susan Cherones and Daniel Lee 300.

Announcements were made. Kathy Williams and Tom George led 56t as the closing song. Henry Johnson offered the closing prayer, and the class was dismissed.

Chairman—Kathy Williams; Vice Chairman—Tom George; Secretary—Judy Caudle