Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 2023 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Dallas County Singing

Cochran Chapel United Methodist Church, Dallas, Texas

Saturday, November 11, 2017

The annual Dallas County Sacred Harp Singing was held at the Cochran Chapel United Methodist Church on Saturday before the second Sunday in November. The class was called to order by Sonny Erwin leading 31t and 480. Owen Ross offered the morning prayer.

Leaders: Michael McBride 107; Owen Ross 228; Rick Foreman 65; Diane Ross 300; Donn Howard 163b; Janie Short 280; Rick Cunningham 112; Barbara Smith 547; Jerry Ryan 235; Leland Ross and Larkin Ross 319; Ellen Ray 270; Michele Curran 269; Ellee Curran “Oh How I Love Jesus”; Hoss Curran 388; Josh Rogan 129; Alex Forsyth 318; Deb Kukal 38b; Jackson Fleder 176b; Robbie Hooper and Tiffany Hooper 565.


Sonny Erwin called the class back to order. Leaders: Michael McBride 155; Tammy Powell 454; Elijah Blevins 58; Vivian Rogan 84; Jacob Rogan 551; Mike Hinton 534.

Cheryl Foreman and Beverly Coates conducted the memorial lesson. Cheryl Foreman read the following names of the sick and housebound: Bill Caldwell, Curtis Owen, Susan Bernucho, Don Huckaby, Melanie Hauff, Dorothy Price, William Price, Myrl Jones, and Azalee Barnett. She led 129.

Beverly Coates read the following names of the deceased: Edith Owen, Marion Grant, B.M. Smith, Hugh McGraw, Eloise Wootten, Levon Wootten, Jane Goforth, Ron Ryan, Frank Price, Julie Vea, Dolorese Lee, Johnny Lee, Gravis Ballinger, and Julia Welch. She led 513. Owen Ross closed the memorial lesson with a prayer.

Leaders: Chris Blevins 163t; Nancy Price 276; Priscilla Wiggins 344; Bruce Coates 535; Lori Rodgers 56b. Owen Ross offered a prayer before the noon meal.


Sonny Erwin called the class back to order by leading 489. Leaders: Gary Rogan 33b; Beverly Coates 208; Gaylon Powel 500; Abigail Blevins 159; Kris Wiggins 86; Chris Nicholson 34b; Sarah Huckaby 503; Scott Curran 532; Avon Miller 411; Nat Ng 47b; Alex Forsyth 30b; Cheryl Foreman 475; Deb Kukal 268; Jackson Fleder 43; Chris Nicholson 473; Janie Short 543; Mike Hinton 527; Lori Rodgers 139; Priscilla Wiggins 472


Sonny Erwin called the class back to order. Leaders: Kris Wiggins 481; Ellen Ray 455; Robbie Hooper and Tiffany Hooper 146; Nancy Price 178; Scott Curran 203; Michele Curran 196; Bruce Coates and Beverly Coates 313b; Vivian Rogan and Gary Rogan 384; Tammy Powell and Gaylon Powell 542; Jerry Ryan 345t; Donn Howard 49b; Rick Cunningham 89; Owen Ross, Diane Ross, and Donald Ross 350; Barbara Smith 387; Michael McBride 39t; Avon Miller 516.

Sonny Erwin led 347 as the closing song. Owen Ross dismissed the class with prayer.

Chairman—Sonny Erwin; Secretary—Megan Smith