Minutes of Sacred Harp Singings

Find in all years, or only checked years:

Or, view 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 2023 or all years.

Song use statistics are also available.

Mountain Heritage Day Singing

Western Carolina University, Cullowhee,
Jackson County, North Carolina

Saturday, September 30, 2017

The Mountain Heritage Day Singing was held at Western Carolina University on the last Saturday in September. The morning session included song selections from The Sacred Harp, 1991 Edition. Mike Nichols welcomed the singers. Steve Walker offered the opening prayer. Mike Nichols led 228. Judy Mincey gave a brief history of The Sacred Harp.

Leaders: Judy Mincey 52t; Dan Huger 49b; Will Peebles 48b; Bill Hogan 72b; Nancy Hogan 171; Mary Baumeister 50b; Chris Wilhelm 131b; Ann Denson 373; Diane Eskenasy 155; Steve Walker 31b; Brian Smith, 47b; Mike Spencer 354t; Cody Graham 282; Cliff Hall 277; Mike Nichols 128; Judy Mincey 313t; Phil Perrin 354b; Will Peebles 59; Bill Hogan 36b; Nancy Hogan 49t; Dan Huger 86; Mary Baumeister 309; Chris Wilhelm 137; Ann Denson 164; Diane Eskenasy 200; Steve Walker 569b; Brian Smith 268; Mike Spencer 420; Cody Graham 45t; Phil Perrin 127. Announcements of upcoming singings were made. Thanks to the University for providing an excellent lunch.


The afternoon session included song selections from The Christian Harmony, 2010 Edition. Mike Nichols welcomed the singers to the afternoon session, and led 117 (CH) (in memory of Eva Adcock). Leaders: George Reynolds 129 (CH); Diane Eskenasy 51 (CH); Judy Mincey 133 (CH); Dan Huger 208b (CH); Steve Walker 131 (CH); Nancy Hogan 432b (CH); Bill Hogan 214 (CH); Mary Baumeister 86b (CH); Chris Wilhelm 396b (CH); Ann Denson 93 (CH); Brian Smith 355 (CH); Phil Perrin 143 (CH); Mike Spencer 493b (CH); Matt Winter 165 (CH); Will Peebles 88 (CH); Mike Nichols 255 (CH); George Reynolds 55b (CH); Diane Eskenasy 339 (CH); Judy Mincey 397b (CH); Dan Huger 76b (CH); Steve Walker 167t (CH); Nancy Hogan 166 (CH); Bill Hogan 264 (CH); Mary Baumeister 130b (CH); Chris Wilhelm 204t (CH) (in memory of Ed Smith); Ann Denson 369 (CH); Brian Smith 287 (CH); Phil Perrin 184 (CH); Alan Brackett 172 (CH); Mike Spencer 193 (CH), 248 (CH). Announcements were made.

Mike Nichols led 200 (CH) as the closing song, and then offered the closing prayer.

Chairman—Mike Nichols; Vice Chairman—Judy Mincey; Secretary—Mary Baumeister